I had my 28 week check up yesterday. The visit itself was very routine. Pee in a cup, get weighed, talk to dr. I did get to have a growth ultrasound though but unfortunately I was almost 20 minutes late thanks to snowy roads. So, that meant that the tech rushed my ultrasound so that she could get me on to my dr appointment in time. It was kind of sad because we had no time to look at anything and she went so fast, I was afraid her measurements were way off. Seriously, I’ve never had a growth scan take probably 10 minutes if that. But Levi did measure well as did his fluid level. I had an AFI (amniotic fluid index) of 14cm and a single pocket measurement of 5cm. That’s probably on par with or maybe better than Truett’s was at this point so that is good. Also, baby is head down (!!!) and I am now certain that these poky things in my ribs are indeed feet and the poky things in my side are knees, elbows and hands. Truett was never head down after 23 weeks and being a frank breech baby, I didn’t feel much from his feet since he couldn’t really kick with them right in his face.

We discussed having a VBAC. It seems that some of the Drs are right on board with it and others, while they say that they are equipped for VBACS and that they are supportive of that choice if baby is not experiencing distress or anything negative like that or breech presentation, they also don’t really seem like they are that into me pursing that route. I have talked about it a little at almost all of my check ups and it seems that their main concerns are:

  • Me going past my due date and having no positive cervical changes – they can’t induce with anything other than Pitocin and they can only induce with that if I have a favorable cervix. So going past my due date and no labor seems to equal c section.
  • If I go into labor naturally and it hasn’t been enough hours since my last blood thinner injection and/or my blood test comes back bad, they can’t give me an epidural/spinal for labor or c section. I am actually fine with that for labor since I won’t be tempted to get one and then later possibly regret that choice (not saying it’s the wrong choice, just knowing myself, I know I might regret it) if it’s not an option. On the other hand, I am afraid if I have to get a c section, I would have to be put under general anestheia. This was a concern with Truett too and God provided that for the first time in my entire pregnancy, I forgot my Heparin shot the morning he was born and I was able to be awake for his birth. So I am going to try not to worry about that.
  • I can’t schedule a natural labor and birth around my shots. Pretty much this is just the same concern as above. I understand that it is nice to know that all your bases are covered. For me though, I cried for AGES after scheduling my c section to have Tru (which I didn’t make it to that date after all) because it felt SO WEIRD to know when he was coming. I liked that God chose the date. DH on the other hand, loves the idea of being able to mark it on the calendar. It’s all in your personality I think. I am not much of a planner. I am spontaneous lol.

SO…. enough of all that. Basically, he is head down. It means nothing and it means everything. We won’t know until we get there. He could still turn breech again although most babies are getting into their little spots around this time. He might be natural, he might not. A lot of it is hanging on what his fluid levels and placenta do as we get closer to the date. If he even thinks about going into distress or if his placenta even thinks about shriveling up before he is born or if his fluid gets too low then you can just find me scrubbing myself in for a c section thankyouverymuch. It’s all up to God anyways. Whatever is in His plan for this little guy to come into this world. 🙂 I don’t regret Truett’s birth. I was hoping to go natural but I had an “easy”, necessary c section.

How far along? 28 weeks 4 days 

How big is the baby? Levi weighed an estimated 2lbs 14oz in the 53rd percentile. 

Total weight gain/loss? Mommy, on the other hand, weighs an estimated lotsmore pounds than Levi in the lotshigher percentile. Meaning I think I gained 2-3 pounds this week. So 19-20 pounds up from pre pregnancy weight now. 

Maternity clothes? I bought a pair of maternity leggings. They are the most comfortable pregnancy clothes you will ever wear. I don’t blame you if you never take them off again. 

Sleep? Terrible. I have had a stuffy nose for months now but it’s getting worse. I can’t get comfortable. My boobs keep playing hacky sack with each other. I keep waking up on my back…. But if I do fall into a deep sleep, it’s wonderful. 🙂 

Best moment this week? Finding out how big my newest little man is and seeing that he is head down. Feeling his feet in my ribs is adorable. I have also loved how Truett comes up and lays his head on my belly. He has no idea his brother is in there but it’s like he has some kind of affection for the belly. It’s precious. 🙂 

Symptoms? Pelvic/hip area is starting to hurt more especially if I sit for hours like I did today in the car. I bounce and roll my hips on the yoga ball a lot and do some stretches. It really helps. Aside from the usual contractions etc, I felt very heavy and tired this week but it’s just normal at this stage so it’s all to be expected. So worth it when I think of the little baby growing in there. 🙂 

Food cravings?  I went on a binge the last couple weeks… a “clean up our diet after the holidays” binge. It includes lots of vegetables and healthy recipes that I hope to share soon! I feel very healthy eating this way. 

Gender? Boy! 

Milestones? I am 7 months pregnant and in my third trimester now no matter what any silly website says!!! 😉 

Bump? It’s out there! 

Dear God, thank You for a good check up and ultrasound today. Thank You for the little baby kicks in my ribs. I always wanted to feel that and I finally am and it’s precious. I pray that Levi will be in whatever position is healthiest and safest for him and that You will provide us with the birth experience that You want for us to have. I pray that he will be born safe, healthy and happy no matter how he comes into the outside world. Thank You so much for him and for this whole very special experience. Please continue to watch other and guard and protect us. In Jesus’ name, amen.

