I haven’t written about our little hobby farm in absolutely ages, probably years, so I thought it would be fun to write a post about where we are at with it currently.

I have 5 adult does (female goats) at the moment and they are all due to kid in March, from the 12th to the 25th. In hindsight, I really don’t know what I was thinking, having them all bred at the same time… it’s going to be utter chaos! (Or should I say, udder chaos? heh heh heh) I have no idea how it’s all going to work out, but I guess we will cross that bridge when we come to it, in T-minus 16 days!! 😬 Generally, my goats throw twins or triplets. I’ve only had singles twice, so I tentatively expect 10 plus kids (of the goat variety). However, as with all things, you really can’t count your chickens (or goats) before they hatch. I still do not own my own buck (male goat), so I have to rent one to breed my does and that is why they all got bred at the same time. He was one busy dude, for a few days! haha…

Anyway, in terms of milk, I am terribly excited to have (Lord willing) 5 does in production at once. For 3 of them, this is their second time around. I milked them last year and they did great. Because it’s their second freshening (coming into milk again) I expect they will do even better this year. I am planning to buy a milk machine soon, because milking 3 by hand one after the other was time consuming and hard on my hand and  shoulder, I really don’t think 5 in a row would be pleasant at all. But oh, how lovely to have all that fresh milk! I want to try making cheese this year.

Lyric was the only girl who would hold still for a pic

In terms of chickens, we currently have 6 hens and 1 rooster, but the quantity of chickens we have is an ever-evolving thing. I will probably pick up a few more here and there but hopefully not be hatching any chicks this year. Of course, if I end up with a broody hen (one that decides to sit on eggs and incubate them) I will probably let her have her fun. They aren’t laying yet since they take a break for winter, but I do expect to see eggs any day now, since its staying light longer, We have one hen in production now! It’s her first year and she’s laying green shelled eggs. 😍 Praise the Lord. I am so over winter… good to see another sign of spring!

Our roo
Some of our hens

Don’t worry, they get plenty of time to free-range. The coop is locked every evening to guard against predators.

Aside from poultry and goats, we have our 4 cats (all females, all spayed lol), our faithful dog whom I’ve posted about over the years (he’s been such a good dog!), and our singular goldfish who is *at least* 7 years old now. Yes, 7. Years. Old. We got him from a random kid who won him at a fair and didn’t want him. That was way back when I was preggers with Z, who is 6 and a half now. This fish has gone from a one gallon tank to a 5 gallon tank and now he’s in a 20 gallon tank, which is hopefully going to be it for the rest of his happy little life because it seems he’s finally stopped growing. Also he might be a she, I really don’t know. He, or she, has a few snails for tank-mates, but that’s all, at present.

I told L I was going to take a pic of buddy and he was like… 🧎‍♂️
Buddy loves you
Mittens just joined the family around Thanksgiving.  She’s an old girl, here to retire and live out her days.
Kitty cat thinks she’s beautiful, because she is.

Snowball cookie is sooo soft 
Angel is over it (not actually). This is literally the funniest cat I’ve ever met.

Off I go. Dinner prep beckons and these boys don’t like waiting for their food! Until next time, adios.