We had a record long day yesterday starting with getting up extra early to got to an insurance physical that is required every year by DH’s job. Even though I got up earlier that usual, I felt great all day! Working out guys… It’s giving me more energy.

I dropped the boys off with my mom and went to my appointment. I chose to go to a new NP because I felt it was time for a change. I really enjoyed talking to her and she took her time going over everything. Their office is set up a little better than my previous family Dr’s office. They seem equipped to do more stuff right there and it’s just a better set up. Then I went to the gym for about an hour.

image

This innocent baby was happily getting a hair treatment

When I went back to mom’s so I could pick up the boys to take them swimming, Levi walked by us in the kitchen and just wiped out on the kitchen floor, hitting the edge of a wooden picture frame (it’s hung very low as it’s on a pass-through wall) and cut his chin wide open. The second I saw it, I knew he needed stitches. I just grabbed him and some wash clothes and went right to the truck. My sister rode with us to the urgent care and sat with Tru while I took Levi back. The Dr said it would hurt like crazy to freeze the area and stitch it but that it absolutely had to be stitched. It was just exposed flesh and no way it could stay closed with a bandage or skin glue. Levi screamed and cried so hard he burst blood vessels all over his face, making it all red. I bawled my head off holding his chest and rubbing his head while 3 nurses held him down so the Dr could put in 3 stitches. Pain wise, it seemed a lot worse than his broken bone because he cried so much harder. I was telling myself to get a grip because they probably thought I was ridiculous but actually the nurse told me they were all impressed at how well I kept my “composure”. Whatever. I’m just so mad that he now has a scar on his chin, has had to experience 2 horribly painful things in a months time that he shouldn’t have EVER had to experience, and I’m mad that I was right there both times and couldn’t protect him either time. 😦 I was really worried taking him in there too with a cast already and him all sweaty in just a diaper since I was getting ready to put his swimming trunks on him so we could go swimming. But the Dr and nurses and receptionist all kept telling me “This stuff happens. It’s ok!” Sigh….

Look away now if you are woozy!!!

image

image

image

So we got back home and Levi got a nap while Tru watched some cartoons then I gave them baths. DH called because it was his Mom’s birthday and he wanted to take her supper. Time-wise, it made more sense for me to go get supper and meet him at her house than for him to go get it and meet us there so that’s what I did. We enjoyed hanging out there for awhile but the kids were really tired and fussy so I brought them home and fed them a snack. After DH got back we got the boys in bed and DH went to bed, with Levi in our bed because I was worried he would try to pull out his stitches. At that point it seemed like the most important thing was to shampoo the living room carpet because it looked so dirty. That took until almost 1am. So I finally got to bed and Tru was up coughing. Loooong day! But I felt more energetic than I have in a long time! I am convinced this working out thing is helping me.

Overall it was a pretty productive day and would have been great if we could have replaced the whole split open chin thing with just going swimming like I’d planned.

image

Tru just wanted to swim. 🙂

DH and I were going to go on that little overnight trip this weekend but we decided to postpone it for now. Also, I was going to get an outdoor cat (allergic to cats so it can’t be inside) to control the mouse population since they insist on coming in ever since our old cat disappeared but, turns out, I don’t have to! A gorgeous young, gray-striped tom cat showed up a few weeks ago and we didn’t see him again until a couple days ago and now he is just staying here. The boys love him and he puts up with Tru picking him up and petting him etc. I want to get him fixed soon so he doesn’t start spraying everything. He’s super friendly and cute. 🙂 We haven’t named him yet….

image

That’s about all. I need to finish Tru’s update because I am actually about a month behind on it now. So much to update on that boy but I always forget everything I want to say. I just love this whole toddler thing – aside from the tantrums. 😉

