A few months ago I took on the project of painting my bedroom. I wanted to spruce it up a bit as it still had the original 20 some year old white wall paper. I still have to buy new furniture as our bedroom set is a hand-me-down that was already used when DH got it as a teenager. We had an enormous headboard but I threw it out before I took the “before” pictures. It wasn’t so ugly, it was just huge with a mirror and lights. Made our bed stick out even further into our walking area which already isn’t that big.

I am actually a bit weirded out by showing the world my bedroom (the tiny corner of the world who actually reads my blog – thank you!) but I guess I’ll just suck it up and post these pics. But keep in mind, The furniture is going to be updated soon! πŸ˜‰

image

Before, but after I took out the headboard. Also after I bought those new blackout window panels.

image

image

I know it doesn’t show up too much in these pictures, but those strips that cover up the places where the wallpaper joins were just …. bleh! I tore all of them off and mudded the strips like they should have been done anyway. We also did this when we painted the kitchen, Tru’s room and the bathrooms when we updated them.

image

During the mudding process.

image

I told DH once I was done mudding there was no way he was going to come in and help me paint and thus take credit for my hard work. πŸ˜‰ I like to do the mudding myself because I do it really really well. Yes, I am bragging on myself. So I caused a ton more work on myself by not having him help me paint but, oh well.

image

The first color I tried. Horrible

image

image

The first gray I used was a gray that DH used in the studio. We love it there. But here? Wow. No way. It looked really violet. It’s because of the wood-look trim. I really dislike wood-look trim but it’s what we have and we are not in a place to replace it all right now. Plus, all the trim is nice so it seems a shame to rip it out. But it limits our color choices SO MUCH!! We can only do warm colors, nothing cool. 😦 So, to the store I went to grab another color and hope for the best.

image

You see here the original white with the gray that looked lavender and finally, the new, very very light gray.

I love the new color. It isn’t a big change from the white but it makes the room look clean and fresh and with all the strips gone from the walls, it looks updated. Imagine how it will look with new and matching furniture!

image

My mil got me that comforter set for Christmas when I told her I wanted to paint my room gray. I matched the curtains to it when I bought them.

image

And, because we no longer had a headboard, I decided to go all diy and make a hanging headboard thingy. It’s a nice splash of color and is what I’m hoping to coordinate with.

image

I will try to post the instructions for the hanging headboard soon. πŸ™‚

