I’ve decided that I am a feast or famine blogger. I am either posting every day or so for short bursts or you hear nothing from me for weeks. I make no apologies! πŸ˜‰ Except to myself.

We went down to Fort Meyers Florida (spent most of our time around Bonita Springs) on the 14th through the 21st (Tuesday to Tuesday) for our family vacation. We have been back for a week today and I miss it! It was really nice to get away and focus on the boys and to have DH all to ourselves and not have to share him with work and music clients. The boys, especially Levi, really appreciated that. πŸ™‚ I wrote up a day by day journal of what we did but it is quite lengthy so I don’t imagine many people will want to read it. I am planning to post it anyway though just so I have it on here for myself. I like to go back and read posts from time to time because life is moving so fast nowadays that I seem to forget so quickly all the little things that I really want to remember.

The nutshell version of the trip is: The boys were extremely grouchy the first few days and we all took some time (and family naps!) to catch back up on sleep. We flew down, which is not a bad flight but we had to get up at dark-thirty. Actually, I got up at 3:40am and we woke the boys up a little after 4am and then our flight ended up being about 2 hours delayed. But once we all got caught up on rest and soaked up some rays, we thoroughly enjoyed getting ourselves completely water-logged and exfoliated in the ocean as well as splashing around in the pool. DH got some pretty serious sunburn but the kids and I applied sunscreen in gross excess and stayed almost entirely unburnt! Levi nursed like a newborn the whole trip, especially loving the “natural” feel of eating boob in the pool and in the ocean. Pretty much anytime we were around water he would beg for a boob and the rocking motion of the waves to lull him to sleep. It was adorable, albeit slightly awkward. Tru and I caught a couple fish with a bucket and a tiny crab. We also found innumerable odd sand creatures that freaked me out as much as they amazed me. We saw dolphins jumping and even saw a small hammerhead shark on our last day of vacation which promptly ended our beach adventure and sent us off in search of ice cream. πŸ™‚ The ocean is so awe inspiring as it is just teeming with life. It seems there is life in every little molecule. God’s handiwork is just amazing! We took only 3 personal bags and our camera with us for our entire trip. The airline doesn’t allow carry ons or check ins without paying a fee, so we packed light. Because we are travel hackers and proud of it! πŸ˜‰ I ended up buying a 4th personal bag for $1 while we were there so we could bring home some extra items, including 2 sandwich bags of carefully selected seashells. We had so much fun picking up shells and the beaches were completely littered with them!

image

This little boy loves the beach! He was absolutely positive that the ocean is called "The Florida". πŸ˜‰

image

I could do this alllll day! ❀

image

They use shells for everything! This was a gravel-type walkway at a park. I also saw shells used like mulch in flower beds. Love it!

image

This is what the beaches looked like.

image

Totally love the bark... or whatever it's called

image

Much needed refreshment after being in the heat.

image

I forgot my camera the day we went to this state park so all I had were phone pics. The boys are cute regardless. πŸ˜‰

In other news, swim lessons are almost over for the month and I don’t think we are going to re-enroll at this time. Tru can swim well now with arm floats or the little square foam the instructor straps to his back. He has great forward propulsion and loves to twirl in circles. We are working on getting him to lay more on his belly in the water instead of staying upright. Levi CAN float on his back with minimal support but he doesn’t really like to. He also kicks and moves his arms well but he is so sure he can swim on his own that he spends the entire lesson lately pushing us away. Actually, I have to have my sister come along to hold Levi because pool time is boob time in his mind. So I have to remove the temptation which means I don’t get to work with him much. I half contemplated just re-enrolling Tru for now but I think I could probably work with him myself at this point. Although the kid LOVES swim lessons and asks almost every day if we can go! πŸ™‚

As far as TTC goes, I stepped up my efforts because of taking the Lovenox shots now. I wanted to be sure I didn’t miss ovulation. So I used OPKs last month and had a very bold positive the day before I felt like my ovaries were both going to fall out. There is just no delicate way to put this and I had thought I maybe wouldn’t post it but I don’t really want to leave it out either. I did conceive but unfortunately, it didn’t last. I don’t really want to go into any more details right now. But, we press on. I don’t know whether I will use OPKs this month or not…. it sucks to take the shots if I don’t even know if we hit ovulation or not.

My SIL and I met up at the park today with our kids for a couple hours and all was going great and the kids had a blast. We were almost ready to go get ice cream when Levi (who had spent the last 1.5 hours happily in the stroller – sweet baby) started crying to go down the slide. So I went down it with him and… I just feel so stupid. His leg got caught behind him (I guess) and he started screaming. After maybe 20 minutes of crying and grabbing at his leg and refusing to put any weight on it, I became more and more sure that it was broken. I took him to the ER and after 3 hours of sitting in the waiting area and the exam room and getting x-rays, the Dr determined that nothing is broken. Most likely a bad sprain. But if he still can’t stand in 3 days, we are to go back in. Levi wanted to be held a lot and nurse the rest of the day and I could tell he was hurting. I gave him pain reliever and we tried an ice pack at one point. He crawled around some but he really can’t put weight on it. He just collapses and cries. So sad. I feel like a really awful mom today. I just hope his leg heals soon and I will NEVER take a baby on a slide again.

I guess that’s kind of a bummer way to end the post but I think all our other news is more fit for the boys monthly updates than to put here. So I guess I’ll just leave it at that. πŸ™‚

