I’m pretty sure I’ve said it about every age and stage but… this age is wonderful! Like right now, Tru is playing in a giant plastic tote. He’s calling it his castle. Imaginative play is happening all the time now and he definitely likes to talk to imaginary friends or something like that. I hear him pretending to be me sometimes. He will say “Tru, come here! Get in the car. No play in the (sand)box!” I got a video of him saying this stuff and it’s positively hilarious! I would post it if I knew how.

He loves to build things with mega blocks. Which we have well over a hundred of them now… a whole large plastic tote full. Like the kind you would store Christmas decorations in and the like. My mom had accumulated a ton of those mega blocks over the years and gave them to the boys last week. But no matter that we have so many blocks, the boys still fight over their TWO favorite blocks, the ones with wheels. Tru loves to make trains, fire trucks and cars.

Life with Mr. Independent is really fun and becoming more and more adventurous! Tru wants to do everything on his own. He cries if we don’t let him climb (cwimb) into and out of his carseat on his own, which takes longer but makes him feel so proud! He also tries to buckle it on his own which is pretty tricky. “My do, my do, MY DO!” is becoming a more and more common thing for him to say. He definitely has an opinion about everything. I would say that he has a strong-willed streak but I don’t mean that in the “My kid is a brat but I call him *strong-willed*” way. Like, it’s a good kind of stubbornness that, yes, makes parenting him challenging at times, but also makes him very determined and I am thrilled to see that trait in him!

Now that Truett is fully vocal, being in public with him is getting more… interesting. I foresee myself being embarrassed a lot! I needed to buy some bras the other day. The first non-nursing bras I’ve bought in years. As soon as we walked into the bra section, Tru started pointing to all of them and saying “BOOBS!” very excitedly. And this went on over and over and over the entire time I was shopping. No matter how many times I tried to quiet his enthusiasm. And yes, there were other people around who heard him and, I imagine, stifled giggles. Then he started getting really excited about a “monster boob” which turned out to be a bra with skulls on it. (Seriously?) But yeah, that was an adventure.

That same day, I bought the boys cheeseburgers and I handed Tru his burger still in the wrapper. He took it with excitement while asking “This a present burger, Mom?” I told him that yes, it was a present burger and when he finished eating it, he said “Mommy, danks for the present burger!” I almost melted with love!

I have been fixing my hair in french braided pig tails recently since it keeps my hair off my neck and helps me stay cool (but not *cool* haha!). Anyway, when I fix my hair that way, Tru says “Mommy, you a girl!”

Tru likes to dress himself all the time and even cries sometimes if I try to help him put on his shoes etc. But after months and months of being able to dress himself perfectly, he keeps getting his clothes on backwards now. He had been taking off his pants every single time he went pee since he always takes himself now (he doesn’t even use the foam potty seat cover any more!) and he can’t climb on the toilet with his pants on. But lately he has been going standing instead so he doesn’t have to undress and redress 10 times a day. 😉 I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to have him fully potty trained and taking himself. It’s a process to get to this point and it’s not fun at all but once it’s done, it’s wonderful! 🙂

Dear God, thank You so much for the amazing blessing of getting to raise Truett and watch him learn and explore his world. Please watch over him and protect him. In Jesus’ name, amen.

image

Tru with turtle number 2. We let him go after a couple days because he seemed to have had a rough life and I didn't want him to be sad. This poor turtle looked to have been shot with a paintball gun as he has green paint on his shell.

image

We have been taking these snack/activity boxes to church to entertain the boys and Tru loves it! As soon as we get to church, he always asks for his snack box.

image

image

Playing in the sandbox at my sister's house

image

Tru drew faces on these dinosaurs and I can't get over how cute it is! I didn't realize he knew where to put eyes ect. He even gave some of them hair. I was shocked when I flipped through the book and saw all these dinos with faces drawn on.

image

Like this dino with it's eyes up way too high. Haha! Tru LOVES to color.


image

A face only a mother could love...

image

He loves to draw fish too. I told him to draw DH a fish and Tru was so cool about it, doing this little "boom" sound at the end lol. DH and I were cracking up!

image

Watching the fish at DH's uncle's house.

