I have very limited space for a garden right now because I am not willing to sacrifice any usable backyard space since I have a lot in the works back there for making outdoor living more feasible for us during the nice months. But there is a chunk of space behind the pole barn that was just going to waste and I decided to make use of it for a very small garden. I figure I can add on to it year by year. There are also wild berry bushes back there and the blackberry and blueberry bushes I planted this spring.

I started out by digging 2 trenches. They are 24 feet long and the space between them is maybe 3 feet wide.

 

IMG_4575 - Copy

Trenched out with what plastic I had leftover laid out.

IMG_4576 - Copy

The trench was about 9-10 inches deep.

 

As I dug, I put most of the dirt in the middle to raise the middle of the bed up a bit. I had to use some filler for the trench filling process.

IMG_4580

IMG_4578

The trench filing process.

IMG_4579

I wish I had gotten the plasic tighter on this section.

After all the plastic had been laid out, and buried in the trench, I cut X’s in the plastic to plant my vegetables. Basically what I do in my flower beds also, except I then cover the plastic with mulch.

 

 

IMG_4592

A nice little yellow bell ppper plant. Notice the X cut in the plastic to allow for planting while remaining weed-free.

IMG_4593

Tomato plant.

 

The finished product. I am very happy with it. Next year I plan to add another bed a few feet over. I think I have enough room for a total of 3. I am hoping they will last several years because I don’t want to have to redo this any time soon!

IMG_4591

Peppers, tomatoes and cucumbers this year.

