Ah, life! You spend all week waiting for the weekend and, if you’re me, come Friday evening I find out that I am either A) being deserted by DH while he goes off to work on a project or night fish etc or B) we end up watching some reaaaaallllllly boring music program on TV by some reaaaaaallllly boring unknown band. I’m just sitting here thinking: are there any programs on maybe of paint drying or grass growing or just a blank wall or something? Because that would be great!!

In other news, I am almost done with the mudding in my bedroom! I am re-doing the room and since DH came late to the party, I have forbid him from helping lest he steal my glory. I have been busting my buns working on it during the boys naps for a couple days. The kids and I made a run to the home improvement store a couple days ago and as far as I know, I have all the supplies that I need to finish it in the next few days. Aside from furniture, but that will have to wait a few months. I want to buy some Amish dressers and, while they are beautiful as well as durable, they are not cheap. And I’m not sure they have anything that will really go well with my style, but I’ll make it work. I’m really excited about this project because I have never gotten to buy furniture for my room or pick out my own paint for my room before. I hope hope hope it turns out well! I forgot to take a good before picture but I think I can probably dig one up from the archives somewhere, you know, in those 8,000 pictures.

This project has motivated me to do Levi’s room as well. I hope my motivation doesn’t run out before I get it done. I picked out paint samples the other day and taped them to the wall and I think I have narrowed it down to the 2 colors I want. I might do an accent wall…. we’ll see. I am totally set on doing chalkboard paint on the bottom half of at least one wall. Hey, if my kids are going to color on the walls anyways, I might as well have at least one wall that is easy to clean, right?

I also bought brackets to anchor all our dressers to the walls. I realize now that should have been a common sense thing to do already, but a couple days ago Tru tried to climb his dresser right before bedtime. The drawer pulled out partway and scraped his arm. Thankfully the drawers have stoppers so it didn’t fall out on him, but I realized the dresser could have fallen on him and it scared me really bad. He was scared to and spent a lot of time looking at his “hurch” and wanting me to put triple antibiotic ointment on it. He was still looking at it the next morning. Poor little guy.

Actually, I’m getting motivated to do a lot of things around here. I bought some strawberry plants and am excited to start a little berry patch for the boys. And I want to plant some fast growing trees in the backyard for more shade. I also want my Dad to build the boys a swing set this year like the one he made us when I was a kid. I just need to get the lumber for it. Super excited to get stuff done!

