This month has shown a HUGE leap in development for Tru. Suddenly he seems closer to 3 than 2 and is picking up on everything and learning very quickly. He has a strong interest in identifying colors, counting, and letters. He knows the letters T, R and O by sight and counts his toys all the time. “6,8,9,10”… It’s not perfect but it’s getting better. He can identify several colors now but his favorites seem to be green and blue although he points out pink, purple, and orange as well.

This month we said goodbye to bottles. I woke up one morning and just put his milk in a sippy cup and told him he was using a cup now. He had been taking his milk in a sippy cup for awhile but not consistently. He was not at all happy when he found out I wasn’t going to give him bottles at all anymore and melted down over it a few times for the next week. I think I gave him a bottle twice after that and one of those times was when he woke up in the night with a sore throat and crying. I just felt he needed the extra tlc. He doesn’t like to drink as much milk this way for whatever reason but I think it’s still enough.

Another big change for Tru this month is he is now diaper free during the day! That was another thing that I just woke up one morning without pre-planning it and told him he was wearing undies. I put undies on him with a plastic cover but he was peeing those like a diaper. I’ve read about the 3 day method but I just wasn’t liking the sound of having him pee everywhere. Nonetheless, I realized that we were going to have to ditch the plastic pants if we wanted to have success. To my surprise, he actually had less accidents and smaller accidents without the plastic pants. I guess because he felt it more and would stop himself. So the first  day  there had to be over a dozen pees in the undies and a couple poo. By mid afternoon he was asking for a diaper but I held out until bedtime. The next day he had only 3 accidents and no begging for a diaper that I remember. Day 3 he had 3 accidents but they were so minor it was only getting his undies a little wet but not soaking through to his pants. He doesn’t want to poo on the potty chair yet so that accounts for 1 accident a day as he’s so sneaky with that poo but I think he will get it soon. 🙂 We are on day 4 now and he is doing great. He hasn’t minded going to the toilet at all during this time and seems pretty proud of himself and his undies. 😉 I generally have to remind him to go to the bathroom because he usually doesn’t tell me so about every hour or so I ask him if he needs to go. He always manages to squeeze some out if I put him on the toilet. I wanted him to learn standing up because he’s tall enough and I thought it would be easier. He will go that way but he doesn’t seem to feel as comfortable with it so we are primarily sticking to having him sit for now on one of those small seats that goes over the adult seat. Because dumping out a kids potty chair really grosses me out so I’m not doing that. 😛

Let’s see…  We have some issues with him wanting to kick, push and sit on his brother. These don’t seem to be mean-spirited things as much as testing the limits, however, sometimes he is just doing it to be mean. Mostly though he loves his brother whom he still calls “baby” or “vavie”. Even DH calls Levi “Vie” now pretty much all the time just because of Tru giving him that nickname. They play together fairly well as long as Levi doesn’t steal Tru’s toys. Tru is good about giving Levi things to play with and sippy cups etc. They chase each other around the couch and Tru loves to do things that make Levi laugh. They talk to each other a lot and it seems like they almost get each other. When they are both awake, they are pretty much always together and Tru always wants to “get the baby” first thing in the morning when he gets up before Levi.

Tru mostly talks to us using real words but he talks to himself using his own language a lot. He sings his own made up songs and LOVES music. He always wants “SONG OFFFFF!” in the car which actually means he wants the songs on but for some reason after weeks of saying “off” and “on” appropriately, he mixed them up and always says “off” when he means “on” now.

He likes to read books and “builds” things out of mega blocks. He loves to color and use stickers and stamps. In general, he is an easy going, yet strong-willed kid. He  likes  to  “nuggle”  mommy  from  time  to  time  which  I  LOVE!!  🙂  But  he’s  definitely more and more of a big kid every day.

One last bit… I have been watching my cousin’s baby boy occasionally started when he was 4.5 months. The first morning I went in to get Tru out of bed and I was carrying baby N. Tru just looked at him a little confused but didn’t really say anything. A few minutes later Levi woke up and I went to get him out of bed. When Tru saw Levi he excitedly said “BIG BABY!!” Apparently he though Levi had shrunk down or something and wasn’t too pleased with it because he was awfully happy to see the “big baby”. 😉

image

What Tru has to do while I get a shower. I have to keep it laid back or else he rocks across the room. 😛

image

His hair was getting sooo long so I cut it...

image

Before

image

After

image

We make cookies alot. After Tru fell off a chair once, we started doing all our baking on the floor.... the oven kills the germs.... right?

image

One of the last bottles. See, way too old.

image

But not too old to "nuggle" mom.

image

And count blocks on fingers

Dear God, I am so happy to be on this parenting journey of raising this little man. I enjoy seeing all the new ways that he is learning and the way that he continually changes and grows in stature and personality. I’m so thankfully for the little person that You made him to be. I pray that I will always raise him right to walk in the ways that You want him to walk. In Jesus’ name, amen.

