I want to do separate updates on both of the boys but since I’m super behind I’m just going to do a combined rundown of some stuff for now. I honestly don’t even know what was going on last time I updated. šŸ˜¦
Levi:

ā€¢ Crawls

ā€¢ Pulls to stand

ā€¢ Has 4 teeth

ā€¢ Eats a combination of purees and regular food. He doesn’t love purees but
sometimes he is too hungry to sit there gnawing at and gumming food for an hour so he will chow down on purees. He likes them better thickened with cereal. He broke his record last night and ate 3 jars at a time plus some pieces of enchilada we had for supper. Usually he eats 2 jars.
ā€¢ Nurses 5-8 times a day

ā€¢ Uses a sippy cup to chew on and gets a sip or two of water now and then but
he still won’t suck it down or take a bottle although I caught him drinking a bit
of Tru’s bottle one day

ā€¢ Sleeps almost exclusively on his belly unless he is in our bed. He sleeps
with his butt in the air and his arms tucked under his chest just like Tru used
to sleep

ā€¢ Likes to bite and pinch me. Thankfully he has only bitten my boob a couple
times although the other day I was sitting on the floor at my friends house (fully clothed of course) and Levi crawled up to me and bit my boob through my shirt. Little booger! šŸ˜‰

ā€¢ Laughs constantly! He is such a goofball.

ā€¢ Loves to dance and wave his hands up and down like he is playing the
drums while he is listening to music.

ā€¢ Hates riding in the car at night and has to listen to the same CD that always
calms Tru down in the car. It is a lady singing that goes to church with us who adopted Tru and Levi as her own grandkids since neither of her children have children. The boys love her and she loves them. Her voice really soothes them.

ā€¢ Moved to his own room a couple weeks ago because he can’t sleep when he is in our room. He wakes up all night long and cries to be in our bed. When he is in his room he sleeps through the night or wakes up once to nurse. It was hard for me to let go but he is happier this way and we all get better sleep aside from me getting up a billion times to check on him. I leave our door and his open so I can hear him easily. I have to order another video monitor to go in his room since I still definitely want one in Tru’s room so I can make sure he isn’t climbing out of the crib.

 

Truett:

ā€¢ Talks in full sentences now sometimes. It all started one night when he came in the kitchen and I asked him if he wanted supper and he said “No. I don’t want to … eat.” DH and I looked at each other in amazement and busted out
laughing. That was the first time Tru said a long sentence like that and he just keeps getting better at it. He still uses his made up words and talks in full sentences of gibberish but that is mostly when he is talking to himself. When he is talking to us he makes a point to use real words mostly. If he doesn’t use real words, I remind him to.

ā€¢ Is still obsessed with “plane in the sky, Hawaii” or as he pronounces it “pain in the guy”. He also points out the moon and the sun and tells me the sun hurts eyes. He points at birds too but he is totally convinced they are planes.

ā€¢ Pronounces words better every day and went from saying “cope” for coat to saying it properly as well as “remope” to remote and “cowp” to couch amongst many other words which he now says correctly. It makes me sad a little and happy a little. šŸ™‚

ā€¢ Is getting much better at controlling his tantrums unless he is tired or hungry. I am thankful for the improvement even though it comes little by painstaking little. It felt like the tantrums would never get any better but they are except for when we are in public. For whatever reason, he still breaks down in public a ton.

ā€¢ Says “MOM! Wook. Wook, Mom! WOOK, WOOK!” which is, of course, “look” at least a hundred times before noon. I’m not.even.kidding. He loves to show me everything he sees and everything he likes. He hasn’t really started showing what he is doing but he is always pointing at stuff. The other day he saw a mascot for a sports team at an event we were at and he popped me right in the eyeball while saying “WOOK, WOOK, WOOK, WOOK… MOM!!! WOOOK!” ….. I WAS WOOKING!!!!

ā€¢ He is actually kind of a help with Levi in a way. He takes stuff away from him that he isn’t supposed to have and seems to kind of watch out for him in general which is adorable. The other day however, Tru was eating cereal and decided to give some to Levi. I was right there but I didn’t notice until I heard Tru making the strangest sound. I guess he was kind of freaking out because I looked at Levi and his mouth was full of cereal and he was choking. I grabbed him and got the cereal out, poor little guy’s heart was pounding from fear and I explained to Tru that Babyuh (what he calls Levi. He also calls him Vavie) does NOT EAT CEREAL YET!

ā€¢ Up until recently Tru would show me his toys that he got for his birthday and tell me that they were “happy day-day toys”. So cute!

ā€¢ He now has to sleep with stuffed animals every night. He had gotten up to 4 in his crib at a time that he HAD to have in order to fall asleep. A monkey, bear, dog and bunny.

ā€¢ If you do something one time with Truett, it becomes a routine. One night I read him some books before bed and the next night he expected the same thing. I am trying to make a point of reading books to him at night when I can. He didn’t enjoy being read to until just lately. Even now he doesn’t always want me to turn the pages etc. We are finally on a good routine of teeth brushing at night. šŸ™‚

ā€¢ We worked on potty training and Tru does great even wearing underwear. He loves going on the toilet and doesn’t have many accidents. BUT, he still
can’t seem to go more than 30 minutes without peeing and it wears us both out to have to go that much. I am planning to bring this up to his Dr if it continues and until then I have decided that we can just try a day here and there and see how it goes and if he somehow manages to start holding it longer before having to go then that’s great. Otherwise, he might be mentally ready but maybe his body just isn’t yet.

 

We have recently:

ā€¢ Went to our RE’s annual Christmas party. It was fun but super crowded. I’m not sure we will go again because we live soooo far away but it was nice to see everyone again and show our RE the babies as well as one of the other RE’s in the practice who went above and beyond to help me with both my IVF and early pregnancy with Levi when I was freaking out and needed reassurance. I even enjoy seeing the receptionists because we really bonded oddly enough back then and they remember us so it’s fun to catch up.

ā€¢ We celebrated Thanksgiving of course which was fun even though we had 3 parties in 3 days and were super busy.

ā€¢ We have almost gotten our Christmas shopping/prep finished which is a relief. We didn’t put up a tree this year as we always have a real tree and I was afraid Levi might choke on the needles. I may put up our table top tree for a few days. We have plenty of trees to enjoy at our family’s houses so that is good.

ā€¢ We are getting out of the house as much as possible. I feel it is better for my mental state even though we don’t stay gone long. I am learning to just a run a couple errands here and there instead of trying to cram everything in for the week and stay home the rest of the time like I used to. This might not be good long term but I do want to watch that we are all getting out as much as we need to.

ā€¢ I have started babysitting here and there for a few hours. I watch a sibling set that are Levi’s age and 3 years old. They are really the perfect age to play with my boys although the baby is super clingy and won’t let me put her down. We don’t have a schedule or anything, I just fill in for the regular babysitter so she can have a break etc.

 

Ok, this is getting too long. If you made it this far, you get a prize! Just kidding. There’s no prize. But thanks for reading and sorry that it’s such a messy post. I don’t have the time or energy to edit right now. šŸ™‚

 

Dear God, thank You for all the wonderful fun and changes the last months have brought. Thank You for all the new things the boys are doing and for all their growth and skills. I ask that You will keep them strong and safe and healthy this winter and always. In Jesus’ name, amen.

