I don’t know why but I just haven’t felt like taking the time to sit down and write a post for a couple weeks now. I really need to get an update out on Levi as he is growing and changing quickly at the moment! Maturing by leaps and bounds all the time. This is a GREAT age. I love watching him learn right now with his little tongue sticking out. 😉

Unfortunately, he has had a stuffy nose off and on for weeks now and a cough here and there. I think the runny nose is allergies because it only happens some days. I haven’t pin-pointed what yet though….

Levi has 4 teeth now! 2 on the top and 2  on the bottom. He seems to get puffy, sore gums that may bleed a little for a day or two beforehand. He gets a little fussy and then a few days later, there’s a tooth!

He is crawling EVERYWHERE and as I predicted, he does follow us around. I think it’s adorable except when I’m trying to go to the bathroom alone. 😉 He also pulls up to a kneeling position and sits himself up which he has been doing for awhile.

He notices DH waaaaaaay more than he used to and cries for him almost every time he sees him. DH can hardly walk away without Levi crying for him. I think it’s adorable although it makes me a tad jealous because Levi seems to prefer DH over me sometimes as he will even reach and fuss for DH when I am holding him.

I think he is a bit of a tattletale already. 😉 Sometimes when he feels like Tru is in his personal space bubble, he will fuss and look right at me like: “He’s bothering me, MOM!”

He takes most naps on his own now. 🙂 He still fusses but usually not for long at all. He likes the fan on and the room dark. We have been laying him down at night earlier because he is a night owl and will gladly stay up and play until 11pm and beyond. I had to implement CIO to get him on an earlier schedule but tonight is only night 2 and he laid down and fussed for probably less than 30 seconds before going to sleep. 🙂 I admit that I still let him in my bed sometimes when he falls asleep nursing in the night and I just snuggle him while he/we sleeps. I probably should never do that just so I don’t confuse him but… sentimentality is a real thing.

Levi is nursing at night more now than before. I don’t deny him since I know he needs to sustain himself somehow since he’s still not eating much. More on that later. But occasionally, I know he’s just waking to nurse because he wants in our bed and in those cases, we skip the boob. But it’s normal to nurse him around 4-6am and 7-9am. If it’s as late as 9am then he is up for the day. More often now he will nurse at 12-2am as well.

EATING:

He still won’t eat but a few bites of purees. I faithfully try almost daily. I usually can get him to eat 2-4 bites. Our record is almost 1 jar but that only happened once. I don’t want to force the issue as, after a few bites, he turns his head and will even retch occasionally. His “favorite” is apricot/pear/apple so it’s usually the only one I try. Even when I give him what we are eating in small pieces, he doesn’t eat a lot. But he does like apple flavored rice rusks and will eat 3 at a time. He likes puffs and feeds them to himself. He likes fruit and veggie melts and will self feed those as well. I gave him pieces of cooked potato this evening on his tray and he fed that to himself. He drops a lot of food while feeding himself but he seems to enjoy the process and it keeps him busy. I didn’t anticipate doing BLW but that’s what he wants to do so, there’s that. As long as he is thriving and growing, I’m happy. Although admittedly still a little sad that I didn’t get to make him tons of homemade purees because that was actually pretty fun with Tru. And I had saved tons of containers from Tru’s baby food to use with Levi. But I’m also finding that this method isn’t all bad (I mean, it’s not “bad” at all – it’s just not what I had planned to do) because he does get to try a wide variety of food and eats what we are eating at his own pace. He has tried so many things (many of which he shouldn’t have tried yet) – meatloaf, pizza, pringles (Tru made crumbs and Levi got them. He picks up EVERYTHING), beans, peas, banana, pork tenderloin, burger, fries, ketchup, rice… tons more stuff. SO, there’s that. 🙂

Dear God, I pray that You will please protect and watch over Levi. Please help him to continue growing and developing well. Thank You for all the health he has and learning he has done. In Jesus’ name, amen.

image

The self-feeder in action. Trying out his 4th tooth the morning we discovered it.

image

Deciding that he's done shopping. Why don't cart buckles loosen more than that? Half the time I can't loosen it enough to buckle him!!

image

Ah, yeah!! I found my way into mom's bed!! This is the life!

image

He LOVES the race car carts! He hangs on to the steering wheel and surprised me by acting like he knows what he's doing. Of course, Tru is a good teacher. 😉

image

Cutting teeth is not fun!!

Yay! All crappy phone pics!

