I’ve been thinking of all the cute things I want to write about Tru but now that I sit down to write, I am forgetting what I wanted to say! I write the best blog posts in my head. Too bad I’m the only one who can read them. 😉

This is Tru’s last month as a 1 year old! That’s just crazy talk!! He is growing into the sweetest, most compassionate little boy. I can see that he has the heart of a servant too in the way he tries to take care of everyone. Especially his brother. Sometimes when he hears Levi cry, he will point to him and say “Crying!!” I know he must wonder why I ever take more than a second to respond. He never seems jealous when we are taking care of Levi or cooing at him. Tru smiles and joins right in. That’s his baby and he loves him!

I try to do a little project with him as close to everyday as possible. Lots of days, I don’t get the chance but it sure is fun to work on things with him. One of our favorite activities is making cards for people. He loves to color the inside of the card and add stickers or glue on pompoms and googly eyes. 8) We also have fun with playdoh, coloring books, making posters for his bedroom door etc. This age really is fun. New things all the time!

The tantrums are more under control now that he is saying more words and we kind of have a better communication method going on. I am hoping things continue to get easier in this area both for him and for me. One thing that I have found helps is me asking him to look in my eyes when he starts to melt down. Once we have established eye contact and he knows that I am 100% focused on him, we can begin to sort out his problem. I also tell him to use his words because he able to say so much but will still resort to screaming from time to time as if he forgets that he can just tell me what is wrong.

Speaking of talking, the language skills this kid has all of a sudden is impressive. I am certain that I could no longer write down a list of all the words he can say. Just last month, I could have come close but now he is saying so much more and trying out short little sentences as well. He repeats himself really bad though which is both funny and occasionally a little annoying. He won’t stop sometimes unless we repeat what he is saying several times as well. I guess he wants to be sure we are all on the same page. 😉 Probably the worst work for him to repeat is “truck”. Because he drops the “tr” and adds an “f”. But he is getting a little better at saying “truck” now with more practice. I also love the way he says “frog”. It comes out “fockoh”. Nearly every morning when he wakes up and I go in to get him, he points to the monkey picture on the blanket hanging on the wall across from him and says “MON-KEY!”. He LOVES monkeys… especially Curious George. After his diaper change, he runs out to the living room saying “Baby! Baby!” and looking for Levi (Vahvie).

A few days ago, Tru found a moth in the door jamb and brought it to me and laid it on my bare leg while I was pumping. I screamed and brushed it to the floor when I saw what it was  – I don’t do bugs! And the look on his poor little face just made me feel terrible. He thought he was giving me this “Buggy!!” as a little gift and I screamed and threw it on the floor. How sad! I will have to be more careful in the future that I don’t react so badly to his gifts. He’s just a kid, a bug was all he had to give.

Ok, turning super sappy now… Moving on before I cry and everyone else barfs. A few little things Tru has enjoyed doing this summer:

  • Playing in the sandbox (which I just realized Tru calls it the “baba”)
  • Splashing in the kiddie pool
  • Taking lots and lots of walks in the stroller
  • Stacking and arranging little remnant pieces of 2x4s left over from a building project – think giant Legos
  • Playing with the “Goggy”
  • Riding his new peddle tractor that my sister got him as an early birthday gift
  • Playing with the matchbox cars that were Daddy’s
  • Playing with his cousin and aunts and uncles
  • Watching “Momo”
  • Just running around outside – he doesn’t care about the oppressively hot weather we had
  • Putting on his shoes and bring me my shoes so we can go “ouside”

Potty training will probably happen for real soon. Truett actually put his potty seat on the toilet the other day and asked to go pee. He pees every single time we put him on the toilet. We now get a half hour between having to run to the toilet whereas we used to only get 15 minutes in between. He is very proud of his success and claps his hands and says “YAY!” every time. 🙂 Now if I would just be as consistent with taking him as I need to be….

The transition away from bottles was a FAIL! Tru destroyed the spout of 2 sippy cup lids in 2 days. They went from totally leak-proof to gushing milk everywhere. He liked the cup, he just destroyed it. We need to use a hard spout cup but I haven’t found one that I like that is also leak-proof that also doesn’t hold milk in the stopper and get all funky. Open to suggestions! We caved and gave him back the bottle but ugh… I don’t even care!

There’s so much more I could write. Just the mundane stuff that is so adorable to me because I’m his mommy. The way he runs to get his shoes and begs to go outside. How he always picks his fuzzy Elmo socks no matter how hot it is just because he loves Elmo so stinkin’ much. How he kisses me and smiles because he knows I think it’s cute. How he tries to mimic every. single. thing. he sees DH do. DH climbs a ladder, Tru tries to climb up on the other side. DH sits next to me, Tru pushes him over so he can sit next to me. DH rubs my back, Tru comes up and wants to rub my back too. The way Tru breaks out dancing every time he hears music and then gets embarrassed when he realizes I’m watching. The way he tries to move his head like a bobble head when a certain commercial comes on featuring a bobble head. Just silly, fun stuff he does that makes my day every day. 🙂 I love this kid so much. He melts my heart!

Dear God, thank You so much for all the fun we are having raising Tru and for the blessing that he is to us every single day. I am so thankful for him and for all the joy he brings to our lives. I love the goofy little personalty You have given him and the independent spirit You have created in him that we are responsible for cultivating and nurturing. I pray that he will always stay strong yet gentle in nature. This servant heart that he has is so precious and rare. Thank You for him and all that he is. In Jesus’ name, amen.

We tried a nap in the big boy bed. It went great for about 10 minutes but then it was too much fun to play on so back to the crib...

We tried a nap in the big boy bed. It went great for about 10 minutes but then it was too much fun to play on so back to the crib…

Painting boards and painting Tru. :)

Painting boards and painting Tru. 🙂

I love how much thought he put into his painting.

I love how much thought he put into his painting.

The finished product.

The finished product.

Then I let him have a go at painting mommy . ;) I think he did a good job.

Then I let him have a go at painting mommy . 😉 I think he did a good job.

We played with remnants of boards like giant legos.

We played with remnants of boards like giant legos.

I tried to use matchbox cars to teach Tru colors. These cars were DH's when he was a boy so they are extra special.

I tried to use matchbox cars to teach Tru colors. These cars were DH’s when he was a boy so they are extra special.

Tru is convinced that all the cars are green.

Tru is convinced that all the cars are green.

Got a turtle tat on his arm. Non-permo of course!

Got a turtle tat on his arm. Non-permo of course!

And continued the fascination with cars. Or "car-ies" as Tru calls them.

And continued the fascination with cars. Or “car-ies” as Tru calls them.

He has developed an attachment to sleeping with a goggy in his bed.

He has developed an attachment to sleeping with a goggy in his bed.

And more "building".

And more “building”.

I was trying to teach him how to make a "T" and "M".

I was trying to teach him how to make a “T” and “M”.

He enjoyed homemade yogurt. DH, Tru and myself ate almost a gallon in 4 days!!

He enjoyed homemade yogurt. DH, Tru and myself ate almost a gallon in 4 days!!

He pet sheep and bunnies at the fair.

He pet sheep and bunnies at the fair.

