I was hit by a wave of sentimentality last night when I realized that Truett is almost 2!!! That is crazy! He was just a baby last week.
This big boy is saying so many words now! DH and I sat there last night and tried to remember all the words Tru says on a daily basis. Every time we would say another word, Tru would repeat us. I think we hit somewhere around 50 words when we just gave up. He says too many words on a daily basis to reliably count now. I catch him trying to say ABC’s and count sometimes. He is a little sponge soaking up everything around him. He repeats our words and actions and we have to be careful what we say and do around him now! Some words include:
•horsie (horse)
•buggy (bug, butterfly)
•no (we hear this word lots!)
•cow
•ball
•fish
•Elmo
•cookie
•monkey
•pee, also the letter p
•poo (which is pretty much anything related to diapers)
•goggy (doggy)
•tree
•baba
•baby
•veevie (Levi)
•river (our dog)
•shoe
•toys
•food
•eat (also, eat some)
•some
•bye
•go
•gogo (yogurt)
•nose
•outside
•done
•hands (also used for gloves)
•uh oh
•bed
•banky (blanky)
•cry
•eggy (egg)
•binky
•dada, daddy
•mama
•pig
•turtle
•where’d it go
•what’s that
•fowee (flower)
•hair
•mine
•comb
•shirt
•I
•hi
•hey
•yes
•please (FINALLY!!!)
I think this will probable be the last words list as it’s getting pretty long.
I try hard to take a little time here and there to do a little something special that focuses on Tru. It doesn’t always go well since things are not predictable in toddler hood and going out for ice cream can somehow turn into throwing the ice cream cone down and crying for no apparent reason whatsoever. But I trust that he at least knows that I am interested in spending time with him one on one and that I love him regardless of how he feels about ice cream. 😉
I am having so much fun doing little art projects with Tru now that he actually understands to some extent what we are trying to accomplish. We made cookies the other day. I stood him on a kitchen chair pulled up to the counter and poured the ingredients into the bowl while he stirred. The cookies turned out deliciously but nothing was sweeter than watching my little boy learning and having fun. He has also helped make hummingbird food. It was just the sugar water recipe but he enjoyed pouring the water and sugar into the pan. (There may have been a small puddle on the floor too. 😉 )
Truett loves to:
•Hold his brother
•Kiss his brother
•Kiss his Mommy
•Wrestle with Daddy
•Take baths
•Swim
•Play in the sandbox
•Point out every yellow vehicle he sees
•Watch Elmo (Although I have really cut back on tv time. I don’t like how distracted it makes him)
•Play outside
•Talk

He is drinking almost entirely breast milk and water. Occasionally he gets whole cow’s milk. I think the reason he likes drinking breast milk is it makes him feel like he is being taken care of in a similar way to Levi. He sees me pumping and is aware of the process to some degree and I truly think this is one of the reasons why he hasn’t been very jealous of Levi – because he definitely was jealous of Levi nursing when we first brought Levi home from the hospital. It actually makes me a little embarrassed to tell people that he is drinking breast milk, people have such weird reactions like they think he is too old or it’s gross or something. I have to disagree on both counts. He is young enough that some toddlers would still be actually nursing and breast milk is food specifically for humans so… I don’t want to offend anyone and that is certainly not my intention. Tru doesn’t NEED breast milk but I enjoy that I have been able to provide it for him during this time.
I gave another try at cutting Tru’s hair at home and I think it turned out pretty well. It makes him look so much older somehow to get a fresh hair cut! I love how he looks like a little boy now. It absolutely melts my heart when he wakes up in the morning and comes out to sit on the couch with his blanket. Ever since giving up the binky, he has been more and more attached to having a “banky”. He doesn’t carry it around full time, but there are moments that he likes to have it with him. He kept biting holes in his pacifiers so I threw them away every time I saw one had a hole until they were gone (I found 2 more laying around but I hid them) and the transition to going binky-free was almost seamless. Occasionally I would see him with one during the day and I would try to get it from him and only let him have them at night and when we went somewhere but it’s so much easier not using them at all now. He doesn’t wake up crying at night because the binky has fallen out of the crib and we have to go find it. I was warned that it would be hard to take them away but thankfully, he hardly noticed. 🙂 Next step is taking away the bottle. I ordered a new sippy cup that is supposedly guaranteed to not leak (which is the only reason we are still using the bottle – I don’t like the milk leaking from the sippy cups that he uses plus they are hard to clean for anything besides water) so as soon as that arrives, bottles are gone. I am not going to his 24 month check up and admitting to the pediatrician that he still uses a bottle! 😉

This is getting long so I better leave you with pictures now.

 

He made cookies!

He made cookies!

And melted my heart with his sweet smile.

And melted my heart with his sweet smile.

And watched cartoons with his cousin after church.

And watched cartoons with his cousin after church.

And went for bug-proof rides with his brother.

And went for bug-proof rides with his brother.

And sat on the couch like a big boy - with a baba.

And sat on the couch like a big boy – with a baba.

And enjoyed the M&M's his honorary grandma at church gave him.

And enjoyed the M&M’s his honorary grandma at church gave him.

This was Truett's idea. Levi was sitting in his Bumbo and Tru brought his chair over so Levi wouldn't be alone.

This was Truett’s idea. Levi was sitting in his Bumbo and Tru brought his chair over so Levi wouldn’t be alone.

Truett takes good care of his goggy. He sits him in the bumbo and watches cartoons with him. :) LOVE!!!

Truett takes good care of his goggy. He sits him in the bumbo and watches cartoons with him. 🙂 LOVE!!!

He's growing up too fast! I have to steal kisses while I can.

He’s growing up too fast! I have to steal kisses while I can.

He reads books with his uncles. Whatever they do, he does. :)

He reads books with his uncles. Whatever they do, he does. 🙂

Dear God, I am continually in awe of the incredible blessing that this little boy is. I know how blessed I am to have him and I thank You for him. I pray that You will watch over him and keep him healthy and safe. In Jesus’ name, amen

