I wrote this for myself to remember. It’s probably not that special to read for other people so feel free to skip over it.

Last July 21st….
I woke up crampy and thinking I was going to start but then I realized I was on CD 34. It seemed totally silly and embarrassing to take a pregnancy test…. someone with my fertility history? Come on! Nevertheless, I laid there in bed and prayed a bit before going out to the truck to bring in some ovulation tests since I had read they could sometimes be used as pregnancy tests. (I had bought them to use the following month just for the heck of it. Since I had been planning to try ivf again in January, I wanted to see where I was at with ovulation.) Anyways, that first test came up positive and I kid you not, I spent several hours googling how effective ovulation tests were when used as pregnancy tests and got plenty of mixed opinions. So I took another and when it was still positive, I went to the dollar store to buy 3 – $1 pregnancy tests. I took one as soon as I got back home and it was positive of course. After a considerable amount of gasping, shaking, and incredulous freaking out, I grabbed Tru off the bathroom floor where he had happily been chewing on test boxes, and ran  out the door to head to the hospital, calling 3 different drs offices along the way asking for a beta. Once we got to the hospital, I sat in the parking lot feeding Tru while waiting for a call from one of the drs. Since it was so late in the day, I wasn’t expecting to get the results till the next morning so I stopped by the Walgreens to buy a 2 pack of weeks estimator tests. I had never used those but I was excited to have the chance to and just needed to see that word *pregnant*. If you can’t tell that I am a POASaholic by now…. we should check into rehab together. Anyway, I came home and the test took forever but finally said “pregnant 2-3 weeks”. I packed it up with a regular test in a baby shower gift bag and gave it to DH when he came home. When he saw the baby shower bag, he jokingly asked “Are you pregnant?” But since our anniversary was 2 days away, he really suspected nothing. He opening the bag enough that he saw the positive tests and without even pulling them out said “Are you lying?” After being assured that this was true, he smiled and laughed and freaked out a bit and we headed out to pick up my lovenox all the while DH kept asking “Is this for real? Are you really pregnant?” I got my beta results on the way so we were both very reassured that I truly was pregnant. And that is what happened a year ago today. 🙂

image

Daddy's surprise. 😉

image

