Last week, I decided to take a test. I had lots of pregnancy symptoms but mostly I just wanted to be sure there was no retained placenta still. Supposedly retained placenta can cause a positive test. I used an opk since that’s what I had on hand and what I had tested on when I found out I was pregnant with Levi. It was positive so I went and bought an E.quate ll 2 pack. I took it in the Walmart bathroom and it was instantly positive.
I called my RE and he ordered a beta and progesterone test. I was thinking it really must be retained placenta or pregnancy. I mean the test turned positive as soon as I took it like while the dye was still crossing the screen kind of fast. I knew it was unlikely (as in HIGHLY, INCREDIBLY UNLIKELY) that I was pregnant and since I had retained placenta at the birth that seemed more likely. However, aside from a little bit of spotting I haven’t had any more bleeding since my 6 week checkup and it seems that I would still be bleeding if I had retained placenta.

image

image

The nurse called me back the next day to let me know that my progesterone was 0.3 so I definitely wasn’t pregnant. I didn’t get my beta results until later in the day but you can imagine my shock when I learned that they were 0!! Which leads me to believe there probably isn’t any retained placenta either. A relief, but since I had a positive test it was still kind of weird. So I went ahead and took the second test that was in the E.quate 2 pack. Positive. OK, what does that mean? (I didn’t get a picture but it was like the first one.)I had started spotting the night before so I thought maybe I was starting my period but it never increased to anything more than a heavy spotting and then went mostly away by the next day. I decided to just disregard the results of the hpts and went on with the rest of my week.

So fast forward to today almost a week after my negative beta. Still feeling pregnancy symptoms. I picked up a dollar store test (most reliable if you ask me, and so cheap). Stark white negative!

image

At any rate, my RE wants to see me tomorrow for a check up and I’m game for it since I’m still spotting off and on and I just want to make sure everything is OK with my uterus after the trauma of the after birth experience and to be sure I’m not still dilated like i was at my 6 week postpartum checkup.

As crazy as it would have been to be pregnant again already I think I could have done it. Not going to lie, I feel a slight pang of disappointment as crazy as that may be. I know I do want another baby on down the road. Now is kind of soon! But with our past fertility struggles, I’ve learned not to be particular about when or even how our children come to be. But I’m thankful that I can focus on Levi being a baby and not be having crazy morning sickness etc while trying to care for 2 little ones that are so small still. Maybe someday I’ll have another positive test but I can guarantee you that I’ll never trust another test… especially not a blue dye test.

