This kid is growing up rapidly now. At least on an intellectual level. He’s saying several more words this month and definitely understands us much better now. He follows simple commands like bringing us an object (like a clean diaper). He mimicks everything we do! He tears off toilet paper and hands it to me when we are in the bathroom, he wipes Levi’s face / head after he kisses him sometimes because Tru always slobbers on Levi and we are always having to wipe it off. He even grabbed the bulb syringe and tried to stick it up Levi’s nose yesterday. He really wants to help wipe Levi’s butt and fold up the dirty diaper. He knows exactly how I do things around the house and I joke that I could just leave Tru in charge instead of DH since Tru knows how I want things done. It’s pretty cute. ๐Ÿ™‚

New words I’ve started hearing daily:
– doggy but pronounced “goggy”
– cookie pronounced a lot like doggy but definitely a different word
– eat!!! Which means he wants food and NOW!!
– ball
– shoe and socks are also called shoe ๐Ÿ˜‰
There are others but I can’t think right now.

We’ve moved Tru’s bedtime from 9pm to 8:30pm so we can get the day winding down sooner. We tried in the past and he would have none of it but now he is perfectly fine with it. The one downside is that he usually won’t sleep until 10am anymore. But that wasn’t bound to last much longer anyways. Naps are back to normal after a brief attempt by Tru to stop taking naps. He couldn’t handle it after a few days and the naps resumed. Usually 1-2 hours in the afternoon.

Still drinking breast milk and very adamant about wanting it. When he sees me pump he cries for a baba. I’ve caught him trying to breast pump his belly button a time or two when I left the pump in his reach. I usually give him about 6+ ounces a day. When he was cutting teeth a couple weeks ago he went several days without eating much at all. During that time I let him have upwards of 20 ounces of breast milk a day. He did well with it but his poo started to turn orange similar to newborn poo. I’m glad he’s back to eating again. ๐Ÿ™‚

Side note, as I’m typing this I just looked over to see Tru reading himself his “5 Little Monkeys Jumping On The Bed” book (he loves books) and grabbing his head. Because the monkeys in the book fall off the bed and bump their heads. He’s so funny! And smart that he knows which book he’s reading and what it means to bump his head even though he can’t say those words. My kid is smart!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Ok , I’ll stop bragging now. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We bought Tru a sand box last weekend and he has played in it a few times. He loves it even though he was afraid to climb in at first. He LOVES to be outside and cries pretty much every time we come in again. I feel bad that I don’t take him out more than I do but it’s a lot of work chasing him around while carrying Levi. I want to get a double stroller so we can take walks. They’re expensive though! This year I am hoping to buy the wood and have my dad assemble a swing set for the boys like the one I had as a kid. It was so fun and I want them to have that too. I also want to get a small kiddie pool for this summer so Tru can stay cool outside and have fun splashing around.

I’m really looking forward to taking Tru swimming in the big pool at my aunt’s house. He loved it the one time we went last year.

Tantrums are a real thing y’all. But we are working on that bit of behavior. Tru is very strong spirited (a good thing although hard at this age) and wants to do everything on his own which isn’t safe or even possible when you’re 1 and a half. He has refused to eat before because: we were having tacos and eating in the car so we were trying help him eat his with less mess. Screaming fit! He didn’t let us feed him until a solid half hour later. Another time, my sister gave him half of a hamburger since he’s really too little to eat a whole one. Well, since it was a half he screamed and cried, threw it down and wouldn’t eat until later. It was kind of funny but also aggravating. The things that make a toddler cry!

Tru has been playing with his cousins more lately and while they all grab toys from each other and cry and fuss (they are ages almost 4,3,2 and 1 lol) I noticed last time they played that Tru seemed to be getting a bit of an idea about sharing. Not saying that it made him happy but at least he figured it out a bit. ๐Ÿ™‚

He’s definitely your typical boy! He laughs every time he or Levi farts. Every stick is automatically a gun (I really don’t know how he figured that out. I guess because he’s seen Bonanza? He “shoots” it then he falls down.). All things that look like cars, can be pushed like cars, or he is pretending is a car automatically have engines. He makes deep growly sounds a lot when he’s reading books. He loves to wrestle daddy but hugs me and puts his arms around my back to pat my back. Levi and I get hugs and kisses all day. Levi gets no less that 20 kisses a day from Tru and that’s a low estimate! I love it that Tru is a loving big brother. ๐Ÿ™‚

image

That face... there's a little girl sitting beside him but i cropped the image for her privacy. But that face!

image

Chillin' at gramps and grams

image

Ever changing appetite but cheese is usually a winner. ๐Ÿ™‚

image

Oh just grabbed a plate and smashed it over this old guitar.


image

Even big kids get tired sometimes!

Dear God, thank You so much for Truett’s sweet, loving heart. Thank You for his strong spirit and I ask that You will help us to shape him gently into the boy and man that You want him to be. Please watch over and protect him. In Jesus’ name, amen.

