I know I just posted his 17 month update but it’s time for the 18 month update now. I’m trying to get back on schedule.

The big question we keep getting this month is: “How is Tru adjusting to the new baby?” I am glad to say that he has adjusted very well! Sure, there was some jealousy at first. There still is a little bit I’m sure. But I can also see that he is starting to genuinely love this new little guy. 🙂 First thing every morning after I get Tru out of his bed and change his diaper, he runs to the family room to check the bassinet and see if Levi is there. If the baby is in the other room crying, Tru gets all worried about him, trying to get me to open the door and get the baby. Tru is also fascinated by watching his brother breastfeed. He is constantly wanting to hug and/or kiss Levi. Occasionally we will help Tru hold the baby and he never wants to give him back! In a desperate attempt at getting Tru to sit still at church, I helped him hold Levi. It worked pretty well. 😉

So I would have to say, baby brother is a hit. But we have to watch Tru so closely around him as he still has no idea how to be consistently gentle. We also had a bit of an incident where Tru climbed into the bassinet with Levi. I have learned that I truly cannot turn my back for even 5 seconds. This means I have to take one of the boys with me pretty much everywhere I go  … no more peeing alone!

Truett had his 18 month check up last week. It went really well. His height is now 33.75″ in the 90th percentile. Tall boy! Weight is 24lbs 3oz in the 50th and head circumference is 49cm in the 90th. Smart boy! 😉 The Pediatrician is not worried about his weight because it has stayed pretty consistent around the 50th percentile for a long time now. We talked about how some days he eats a lot and other days he just picks at his food and she said that’s pretty normal. We just have to look at his diet on a whole which is generally okish. I do need to get more iron in him one way or the other though because his iron count came back at just 9 and then when it was retested a few minutes later it was 10. So it’s definitely a little low yet. The Pediatrician was surprised that Tru is happy to drink breast milk. Actually he begs for it…. When he sees me pumping he begs for the bottle. It’s kind of slightly a little bit gross I guess. But I am happy for him to be getting breast milk again and having those antibodies. I usually give him about 4 or 5 ounces of it a day.

He’s finally starting to use a few more words I think out of necessity more than anything. He has found that he needs a better way to communicate with us than just crying all the time. He also grabs our hands and leads us where he wants us to go. Usually outside or the kitchen. 😉 But lately he has been adamant about wanting to go to bed and have nap times as well. He needs the alone time I think. Works for me!!!! 🙂

Tru has also become very skilled at putting on his own socks. He can also get his pants on up to his diaper and we just have to pull them up for him. He will happily sit for 30 minutes putting on socks or taking shoes on and off.

This Easter made so much more sense to him. We went to church (then stopped at Lowe’s to buy a washer because ours quit) then came home so Tru could have a nap before heading to my aunt’s house for Easter dinner and an egg hunt. Tru had fun finding eggs but once he figured out there was candy inside, he wanted to open every egg before putting them in the basket. 😉 It was super cute.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Dear God, please continue to bless and protect Tru throughout his life. Thank You for all the many new things he is learning every day. In Jesus’ name, amen.

