I went ahead and cancelled Levis weight check for this week. I can tell he has definitely gained some weight. I was supposed to have his bilirubin level checked this week if his Pediatrician thought he still looked yellow at his weight check, but since we didn’t go to the weight check we didn’t get the bilirubin level checked either. I think he looks like it is almost completely gone though so I’m really not worried about it at this point.

This kid eats nonstop all day and all evening. It really doesn’t bother me though. He likes to snack more than have a full on meal. The only problem with that is he didn’t get my breast fully drained out and I ended up developing a clogged milk duct which then decided to go ahead and try to turn into a breast infection. It has been about five or six days now and I still have not gotten the blockage to move through completely. I tried nursing on all fours, dangling above the baby ( what a sight) to try to bring the blockage down but nothing seems to be working. So I added in 2 extra pumping sessions. I’m now pumping once in the morning, once in the evening, once before I go to bed and once in the middle of the night. Hopefully that will help me to stay drained out a little bit better so I don’t risk more blockages.

I think my stitches might be starting to fall out finally! I think there are roughly 10 on the outside and who knows how many on the inside.

It’s crazy how much more aware Levi is this week! I can really see him starting to notice things and  understand things a little bit. DH’s sister had a baby boy 18 days after I had Levi. It was so amazing to see the two babies together and be able to tell how much Levi has grown and developed in such a short amount of time. He loves to look around and pays attention for a little bit while I talk to him. I can see a hint of a smile trying to peek through every now and then. I think Truett started smiling at us when he was about 3 weeks 4 days old so Levi is probably just days away from being able to smile!! It’s amazing how fast the time flies…

He makes the cutest sounds now too. He has this little sound he makes in his sleep all the time that sounds just like a bullfrog. It has earned him the nickname Baby Bullfrog. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We are getting anywhere from two and a half to four and a half hours of sleep at a time at night. Most nights he wakes up almost exactly every 3 hours. That works out pretty well for me. He usually gets done nursing relatively quickly too. 10 to 20 minutes then we are back asleep. We did have a couple nights that really tried my patience where he wouldn’t stay asleep and he just wanted to be held. I think his tummy was really hurting him though. We have started giving him some gas drops with his evening feedings and it seems to be helping.

I would love to write more but we have gotten rid of our home internet temporarily and it’s such a pain to try to write on my phone! So I shall leave you with a few pictures.

image

image

image

image

image

Dear God, please keep Your hedge of protection around Levi and continue to help him grow strong and healthy. In Jesus’ name, amen.

