Truett is starting to talk more now. I LOVE his voice. He says:

  • What’s this? / What’s that?  – He also will say “What IS this/that” etc…
  • Who’s this? / Who’s that?
  • Horse
  • Wow (but I don’t hear this much anymore)
  • Dada
  • He hardly ever says it anymore but he does know how to say Mama
  • Oh
  • Ba ba
  • Yay
  • I think he tries to say dog  – he definitely said dog today when he wanted to play with my grandma’s standard poodle
  • No – I just heard him say this today

That’s about it but he jabbers constantly in his own language and the words stay the same i.e same syllables and sound combinations. It’s interesting that he is saying 2 word sentences before saying very many words. He asks his questions ALL the time. He especially loves to point to my belly and ask “OHHHH, what is that?” He has been pointing his finger at the dog and talking to him sternly from time to time. He definitely picks up on everything we do.

 

  • He is starting to turn books so that they are not upside down when he is reading them. We have the “Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see?” board book and Tru loves to turn to the page with the white dog and hug it. It is his absolute favorite toy right now. He has also become coordinated enough in just the last few weeks to be able to push large plastic coins into the slot on his toy piggy bank and to put balls in the mouth of a ball tumbler that he got for Christmas. We are still working with the shape sorter and while he does struggle to put the shapes into the right holes, he is very good at putting them in once he knows where they go.
Working with his ball tumbler.

Working with his ball tumbler.

 

  • We are able to tell him to bring us certain toys and he knows what ones we are talking about.

 

  • He loves animals and has no fear of them. He ran right up to a friends chow dog the other day and freaked me out! I didn’t know if the dog was friendly and before I could grab him, Tru had run right to it. Thank God, the dog was nice! He has no fear of my grandma’s standard poodle. I mean, that dog is practically a horse! I really have to watch him with animals. He would run up to a giraffe if given the chance and probably hug it’s leg!

 

  • I am working with him on coming to me when I ask him to. I have noticed that he has improved on this a little.

 

  • I am still “potty training” if you can really call it that. Taking him now and then when I feel like it. He doesn’t really get it right now and that’s ok. He knows it is good to go in the toilet but he also got excited and clapped and said “Yay!” the other day when he pooped in his pull-up. Hey, at least he is making an association here to his bodily functions. I count that as progress! 🙂

 

  • He still loves Elmo way too much but I am thankful for it on the days when I absolutely must have a moment to get something done. I use it as little as possible. He also likes Blue’s Clues. He doesn’t get into other cartoons and kids shows too much.

 

  • He mostly takes one 1-3 hour nap a day in the afternoon but occasionally he is cranky enough that I will lay him down for a quick nap in the evening.
I went to check on him before going to bed the other night and I found him like this.

I went to check on him before going to bed the other night and I found him like this.

 

  • He started waking up earlier (around 8-8:30am) but the last few days he has been getting up closer to 10am which is awesome!! I love it! The only downside is that I have to keep waking him so we can go places and that puts him back on an earlier schedule and honestly, with a new little guy on the way, I am happy to rock the late wake ups as long as possible!

 

  • His favorite foods are scrambled/hard boiled/fried  eggs, oranges, avocados and peanut butter sandwiches. He is a big fan of breakfast but couldn’t really care less about lunch and is still hit and miss with supper. He loves any food that is green. It is the food he usually goes for first on his tray. We can’t give him a fork or spoon or he will just play with it and not eat. He still drinks a cereal bottle sometime during the day – usually after breakfast or before bed. He loves it! I put 1/2 cup of oatmeal cereal in his bottle and fill it the rest of the way with whole milk. I shake that up with his liquid vitamins that I give him every day and he slurps it right down!

CAM01375

Enjoying his favorite breakfast!

Enjoying his favorite breakfast!

 

  • Yes, you read that right. He still takes a bottle. I am not worried about taking it away from him yet because a) it is the only way I can get his cereal bottle in him and that its important to me right now for iron content and b) I rather him drink his milk out of a bottle than a sippy cup which is next to impossible to clean out. I know that I could stop giving him bottles tomorrow and he wouldn’t even miss them because he loves his sippy cup and carries it around all day with water in it.

 

  • He also still has his binky. I don’t plan to wean him from that until after Levi is born. I feel that he might need that security when we have to leave him overnight. But I have been letting him have it less during the day and more just for naps and bedtime. He is usually fine without it during the day. It is more of a habit than something he actually cries for.
The ONLY place he will nap at NOT in a crib. I don't understand it at all but he will nap at the lady's house that we take care of.

The ONLY place he will nap at NOT in a crib. I don’t understand it at all but he will nap at the lady’s house that we take care of.

He thought the baby gate was the end of the world for a minute there when we first got it. ;)

He thought the baby gate was the end of the world for a minute there when we first got it. 😉

 

  • He is in 18-24 month clothes but most of his 18 month stuff is getting too small. He wears size 4 diapers and we have to buy either Luvs or Walmart brand for night time wear as he leaks out of absolutely everything! He leaks regardless of what we put on him but the damage is worse in other brands.

 

  • He is getting more snuggly. I LOVE this!! He runs up to me and hugs me and it just melts my heart. He climbs up on the couch next to me (yes, he can climb on the couch now too and has fallen off of our friends couch once but hasn’t learned his lesson to be more careful. I am a nervous wreck!) and brings me his books so he can read them to me…. he reads them to US! He will pat my belly and ask what it is ;).

 

  • He cried the other day because he thought Daddy was home and I didn’t open the door. It was so funny and sad because Daddy really wasn’t home. This little guy is so enthralled by his Daddy. He is big buddies with him and knows that he can get away with way more when Daddy is in charge. 😉
They look so much alike!

They look so much alike!

We took him to the park the other day for a bit. He was not too pleased with the swing, he loved the slide if Daddy went down it with him but what he liked most was just running around free!

We took him to the park the other day for a bit. He was not too pleased with the swing, he loved the slide if Daddy went down it with him but what he liked most was just running around free!

 

  • The tantrums have continued but I feel like we are making some progress. Considering that he has cut 5 teeth (!!!) since the start of the New Year, I am impressed that he is able to hold himself together at all. I have seen his gums so sore they are bleeding. Poor little guy. But we are making progress when we go places. He sat during almost the entire service sunday night before I had to take him out. When I do take him out, I sit with him in the church kitchen and try not to make it too interesting so he won’t cry just so I will take him back there to play. We do pack toys and a coloring book and snacks so he will be at least somewhat entertained during the service. He was doing a great job coloring Sunday night until he decided to take a bite of the crayon which I then had to take from him, hence the crying episode and the trip to the kitchen…. 🙂

 

I could go on and on about all the cute things Truett is doing now and all the things he is learning. I am loving this toddler stage (aside from the fits) because it seems like we just interact so well now and… he thinks I’m funny!! He does silly stuff to make us laugh and just has so much personality! I could see his personality a little when he was smaller but now it is super apparent. He is very silly just like his Daddy and makes the cutest faces. I love his smile and his laugh.

 

His typical silly self.

His typical silly self.

Doesn't he look so small in his car seat? He rarely will sleep in the car unless he is super exhausted.

Doesn’t he look so small in his car seat? He rarely will sleep in the car unless he is super exhausted.

 

Grandpa reading him a book.

Grandpa reading him a book.

 

Dear God, Thank You for all the new things Truett has learned this month and all the fun we are having together. I pray that You will continue to protect him and watch over him. I pray that he will be a good big brother to Levi and that DH and I will be good parents to them both and raise them the way You want us to. In Jesus’ name, amen.

