Truett had his 12 month check up on 10-10-14 and his stats were: 21.1 pounds in the 50th percentile, length 30.25 inches in the 85th-95th percentile, and head circumference 47.5 cm in the 90th percentile. His blood lead level came back good. πŸ™‚ All in all, he checked out perfectly. He just really wanted the drs necklace. πŸ™‚

 

I realize this update is super long and probably NOT super interesting but this blog is still my journal first and foremost and I don’t want to forget this stuff. If you get too bored, you can skip to the pictures. πŸ™‚

 

So, the highlights of this month are:

  • Truett is walking all over the place!! If he needs to get somewhere in a hurry or if he is around other people and too busy concentrating on them to focus on his walking, he will still crawl but most of the time he is walking. He walks pretty well but he hasn’t really figured how to go around things. If there are toys in his path, he just plows through them.
  • He talks all the time! He says Baba, Dada, and Mama and when we hand him something, most of the time he makes some sort of noise. If it is food, the noise is usually “Ca”. I don’t know if this is thank you or what. He reads his books to himself and his favorite “words” to use are usually “Soy soy soy” and “yeah”. Totally made up on his own but it’s always the same words along with other little made up words he uses.
  • He loves his bottles. We can’t even say the word “baba” in front of him or he will immediately start crying for one. His “baba” is also his sippy cup of water that we let him carry around with him throughout the day. He likes to drink his water Β and was very impressed when he found out his cup fit into the cup holder on his high chair tray.
  • Loves giving hugs. Specifically “head hugs” where he will lay his head on us, the floor, his toys, the dog etc and smiles. Some days though, he will run up to me repeatedly and give me big hugs. πŸ™‚ I love it.
  • He has learned that if he falls or something, I will say “UH-OH!” and he likes that for some reason so he will make him self fall over and over on purpose. This may not be a good thing…
  • He loves books. He likes for us to read to him but he likes even better to read to himself and is very dramatic in his voice inflections. He also likes to sneak and eat his books so we have to really watch him on that.
  • Still has just 4 teeth and drools like he is producing teeth for the whole wide world. Shirt after shirt is soaked in slobber to the point that I doubt he ever wears a fully dry shirt for more than a minute or two. But still no sign of the other teeth popping through aside from slightly raised gums on the bottom. On the one hand, they can take their time as far as I’m concerned but on the other hand, maybe we should just get them in now instead of prolonging the misery.
  • He is STILL sleeping in our room. I know, I know. It’s awful isn’t it?! I promise, I plan to move him out asap. I just haven’t gotten a video monitor yet for his room. I am not procrastinating. Yes, I am. I am starting to worry though that the longer we wait to move him out, the harder of a time he is going to have transitioning. I foresee sleepless nights when we make the change. We have started doing some naps in his room. So far, so good.
  • We stopped potty training when I was put on couch rest since it involves me lifting him a hundred times a day. (pees every half hour) but he is still VERY interested in us using the toilet and wants to be quite involved in the watching process….
  • He still puts absolutely EVERYTHING in his mouth. I thought he would have kind of outgrown this by now but I was wrong. Every little thing is a potential hazard still.
  • He got his first hair cut. It’s nothing too extravagant considering I cut it myself while he half crawled and I half held him down. But it’s a lot better than it was!! He can wear a faux-hawk again like daddy. πŸ™‚ I’m sorry to say that I don’t have an “after” picture yet but I will try to post one soon.

 

 

He got a rockin' camo coat for his bday but I realy just want to show you that hair! It was terrible. I'm so glad it's cut now and looking a sight better.

He got a rockin’ camo coat for his bday but I realy just want to show you that hair! It was terrible. I’m so glad it’s cut now and looking a sight better.

I can't get over how cute he is. I think I could just stare at him all day.

I can’t get over how cute he is. I think I could just stare at him all day.

Daddy stuck him in the laundry hamper and wheeled him around. Tru couldn't even move his arms but he loved it! He was not happy when we got him out.

Daddy stuck him in the laundry hamper and wheeled him around. Tru couldn’t even move his arms but he loved it! He was not happy when we got him out.

He always climbs into the laundry basket. He loves sitting on top of it while I fold.

He always climbs into the laundry basket. He loves sitting on top of it while I fold. He “helps” me so much by throwing the laundry on the floor for me too. πŸ˜‰

How Tru's toy shelf looks out in our family room. We did away with the toy box and this works out much better.

How Tru’s toy shelf looks out in our family room. We did away with the toy box and this works out much better.

Works out better for about 2 seconds, that is.

Works out better for about 2 seconds, that is.

When you wear yourself out with your favorite push toy and just have to sit down.

When you wear yourself out with your favorite push toy and just have to sit down.

This picture leaves a lot to be desired but again, that hair!!

This picture leaves a lot to be desired but again, that hair!!

This is how daddy looks sitting in the woods waiting for a deer.

This is how daddy looks sitting in the woods waiting for a deer.

And then he sees one coming!!

And then he sees one coming!!

This is daddy's face when he shoots the deer!

This is daddy’s face when he shoots the deer!

Nobody loves baths like this boy! He is the splash master! And he never ever wants to get out.

Nobody loves baths like this boy! He is the splash master! And he never ever wants to get out.

 

Dear God, I am so in awe of the love and the gift I have found in being Tru’s mommy. Thank You for this wonderful blessing of getting to know and love this little boy. Please help us to raise him the way You want us to. I pray that You will continue to watch over him and bless him all the days of his life. In Jesus’ name, amen.

 

