This is DH and I. He is a bit of a clean freak. (Not the obsessive compulsive kind – at least I don’t think so – hmmmm). I enjoy a clean house as much as anyone, well anyone but Mr. Clean. I don’t like things to be SO clean that I feel like I can’t have the freedom to make a little mess and I enjoy a lived in house more than an antiseptic hospital. I like sanitary. I like picked up. I like clean dishes, counters and floors. But let’s be honest, I don’t really like doing the cleaning. I like doing the messing.

 

I like going into the kitchen and making a pie from scratch – crust and all – while Mr. Clean freaks out about how much he hates flour on the counters and heavens (!!!) there’s even a little dusting of flour on the floor now. To be fair, he wouldn’t freak out as much if he knew that I would be cleaning the mess up RIGHT AWAY! But my name is and always has been – Messy Marvin. There’s always stuff that needs done more than cleaning, like eating that pie!

 

When I was a kid, my parents called me Messy Marvin, and Mr. Clean couldn’t agree more. When I was dating Mr. Clean, I would call him and let him know I was going to come hang out. His room was always clean. His bed was always made. It was like nobody lived in his room. I would get to his house and he would be doing dishes, vacuuming, wiping down counters… I always just assumed that he was getting his chores done (he was still in high school when we started dating), I didn’t realize that he was cleaning the house for me! It must have been a real shock to his system when he married me. Then again, opposites do attract! I do try to keep a clean house but I am NOT dusting every other day. Heck, right now we all know that I’m happy if the dishes are getting done every other day and the floor is swept once a week (or whenever it starts looking bad).

 

I remember when we brought Tru home from the hospital and all the hospital bags and baby stuff was lying around everywhere, I sat there just waiting for Mr. Clean to start frantically cleaning up. But he didn’t and finally I said that I couldn’t believe how well he was handling the mess. He’s been handling those types (and far FAR worse) of messes ever since. I am so proud of him. 🙂 And I’m working on one day becoming Mrs. Clean! HA!!! No I’m not. 😉

