So, last weekend was Truett’s long awaited first birthday party. After days of slowly prepping things and freaking out at the last minute that we wouldn’t get everything done in time, my mom and DH cleaned our house the night before the party at like 9pm and my sisters came and decorated literally an hour before the guests arrived while I ran to the store to buy a few more sandwich ingredients because people don’t RSVP anymore and I was afraid we would run out of food. My worries were in vain though because we had EXACTLY as much food as we needed so that everyone who came could have lunch and the people who stayed late got to finish off everything for supper. God provided and it was PERFECT!

 

I spent the day before icing cupcakes sitting on the couch and the morning of the party sitting at the table making sandwiches while Truett tried to grab the sandwich ingredients off the table. I found out that it is significantly easier to do things standing up. It might just be me, I don’t know but  I become the most uncoordinated lug while I’m sitting down.

 

We had so many party guests and we felt so blessed to be surrounded by so much love. Maybe it was a blessing in disguise that I decided against inviting our church family (even though I really wanted them there) since I was trying to keep the party simple once I found out that I would be hosting it while on couch rest. We would not have had anywhere to put everyone! As it was, we were packed in like sardines but it was so special to have so many of our loved ones and a few close friends with us.

 

The theme was pumpkins although we didn’t do anything too extravagant in the decorating department so I’m not sure anyone really noticed but I’m not a very theme-y person so that’s perfectly fine by me. 🙂

 

Truett LOVED his smash cake once he figured out that he could actually eat this thing that had just had a really cool flaming candle on top of it. He did the whole traditional face-in-the-cake thing and was double fisting cake into his mouth. He kept looking at everyone watching him eat it like he was really confused and just waiting for someone to tell him no and take it away. By the time I did finally take it away, I don’t think he wanted to eat any more. He was very grossed out by the sticky feeling all over him. He required a whole bath and his chair had to be taken apart for cleaning. His head smelled like cupcake all evening. It was so funny.

 

Tru with his 6 and a half month old friend who already weighs more than Tru does. they "talked to each other in baby language just like they understood what they were saying.

Tru with his 6 and a half month old friend who already weighs more than Tru does. they “talked to each other in baby language just like they understood what they were saying. Tru might have smacked his friend in the head a few times to get his attention and his friend might have almost pulled Tru’s shirt off. It was pretty cute. 🙂 

The spread.

The spread. I think we had 67 ham, turkey, club, and chicken salad sandwiches, not all pictured here, pasta salad, vegi tray, chips, and my sweet MIL brought the BEST EVER scalloped potatoes and a whole bunch of different drinks. 

Toys from great grandma.

Toys from great grandma.

Eating his birthday lunch.

Eating his birthday lunch.

His very own little smash cake. It's a good thing I made it small because he ate almost the whole thing!

His very own little smash cake. It’s a good thing I made it small because he ate almost the whole thing!

I made 8-some cupcakes.

I made 80-some cupcakes.

"I can't believe nobody is stopping me!"

“I can’t believe nobody is stopping me!”

"They let me eat the whole thing. I can't believe it! Best Day Ever!"

“They let me eat the whole thing. I can’t believe it! Best Day Ever!” You can tell that he is getting really tired here since he only had a very short nap that day. The cake gave him just enough sugar rush to get through the present opening and then he went right to sleep. 

Gift table and party favor candy bags.

Gift table and party favor candy bags.

We bought himself a sippy cup and he figured it out on the second try. He likes it alot. :)

We bought him a sippy cup and he figured it out on the second try. He likes it alot. 🙂 I tell you what guys, we buy our kid such fancy presents. Some $1 foam puzzles and a $3 sippy cup! We are so extravagant….

After he opened this piano from his great grandma, he was done! He didn't want to open another thing.

After he opened this piano from his great grandma, he was done! He didn’t want to open another thing.

He has that musical itch like Daddy.

He has that musical itch like Daddy.

I mean, they're so good they can play with their feet!

I mean, they’re so good they can play with their feet!

"These toys are delicious. Thanks guys."

“These toys are delicious. Thanks guys.”

With his plunder. ;)

With his plunder. 😉

Mommy chillin' with some leftover sandwiches.... Come on guys.... I only ate like 1... or 2.

Mommy chillin’ with some sandwiches…. Come on guys…. I only ate like 1… or 2. Ok, 3. 

Resuming our present opening hours later.

Resuming our present opening hours later.

We love you baby Tru.

We love you baby Tru.

I know you wanted to see our feet. You're welcome. :)

I know you wanted to see our feet. You’re welcome. 🙂

A hat made by his great aunt. Isn't it so adorable!?

A hat made by his great aunt. Isn’t it so adorable!?

I forgot that my sister had taken a belly shot that day. And this is late in the evening after cupcakes and sandwiches and everything.

I forgot that my sister had taken a belly shot that day. And this is late in the evening after cupcakes and sandwiches and everything. I hate that I was wearing a sports nursing bra. I look like the saggy chested, hacky sack boob shadow. 

 

Dear God, Thank You so very much for the wonderful day that we got to spend with our friends and family for Truett’s birthday. Thank You for all the people in our lives who love him so much. Please bless all of those who have prayed for him since before he was even conceived. Please bless him with many more wonderful years on this earth. In Jesus’ name, amen.

