…We brought our little Truett home from the hospital. He was under 6 pounds at that point from the normal drop in weight after birth and he was too small even for his newborn clothes, but he pooped and/or peed on all the small outfits we had brought to take him home in so he was swimming in a gigantic 3 month outfit. The pants alone could cover his whole body.

wpid-CAM00040.jpg

Looking so tiny in his newborn outfit I had bought and prayed over during my second IVF.

We had to stop at Wal-mart on the way home because we didn’t have any baby nail clippers. My mammoth boobs had outgrown all my bras once my milk came in. I bought a D cup and I couldn’t fit it. It was awhile before I found a bra that fit… but that’s another story. I made DH push me in the wheelchair because I didn’t feel up to using the power wheelchair yet. He insisted that we looked like bad young parents and should leave Tru in his car-seat and have DH push him in the cart while I drove around in the power wheelchair. I just couldn’t handle the tugging on my belly so I held Tru while DH pushed us. We got a lot of bad looks and several comments about how tiny our baby was and how we needed to be careful. It annoyed me. If these people only knew what we had went through to get this tiny little baby they would know just how careful we were being.

DH drove so carefully. It was so sweet. I was aching to get home on the long ride though. I was having to hand pump while we drove because my milk was in full force and I was about to bust. Once we pulled in the driveway and DH carried everything inside, I surveyed our very messy living room. It was now full of baby stuff and for the first time in his life, my clean freak husband did not freak out about it. Our living room hasn’t been clean since and I love it. πŸ™‚

Daddy adores his little boy. I love seeing the bond they have with each other.

Daddy adores his little boy. I love seeing the bond they have with each other.

I can hardly believe it has been a year. The time feels so short. I look at Tru and am in absolute amazement at all he has learned in the first year of his life. He says words, he eats what we eat, he whistles, he has been taking steps all by himself, he plays with the dog, he laughs at us, he loves to hug us. This little, helpless, 6lb 6oz newborn has grown in one short year to a tall, strong, toddler

wpid-CAM00030.jpg

wpid-CAM00077.jpg

wpid-CAM00192.jpg

RSCN0657

wpid-CAM00271.jpg

wpid-CAM00269.jpg

wpid-CAM00283.jpg

wpid-CAM00303.jpg

wpid-CAM00307.jpg

wpid-CAM00393.jpg

wpid-CAM00520.jpg

wpid-CAM00526.jpg

wpid-CAM00547.jpg

wpid-CAM00438.jpg

wpid-CAM00467.jpg

wpid-CAM00476.jpg

wpid-CAM00466.jpg

wpid-cam00658-1.jpg

DSCN1315

wpid-cam00735.jpg

wpid-cam00793.jpg

wpid-CAM00812.jpg

Riding in a borrowed car seat. πŸ˜‰

Modeling his camo and daddy's deer hide.

RSCN1375

Tru fell asleep on the walk.

You can't get cuter than that.

wpid-140419_055.jpg

wpid-cam00915.jpg

DSCN1704

wpid-CAM01040.jpg

Walking to Horseshoe Falls.

At lunch with my Grandma. Tru drank a lot of my water and then decided he needed a smoke.

Tru was so inthralled by the geese that were everywhere around us (one actually ate from my hand) and the fish that were jumping up in the water to grab food.

This face. This is what convinces me to open my eyes in the morning when I wake up all kinds of tired. :)

Addicted to teething wafers now. They do keep him happy...

Down by the River.

Tru's favorite person in the world now. Who cares about mom when you can be best buds with dad?

Daddy's surprise. ;)

My niece was not impressed by her new car but Tru sure was! We put the seat belt on him but he wouldn't sit down! Thankfully they weren't actually driving.

Love that face!!

He sat in his toy box. (Please ignore all the front porch building crap out the window.)

He tackled Mommy.

He walked behind Daddy. He's braver than I am. ;)

He sat in his bumbo... and wore it like a turtle.

And most of all, he looked adorable.

I think he was eyeballing my Fair hamburger.

Somehow DH actually held Tru in that cut out while standing there. Talent, I'm tellin' ya.

But he wouldn't give them to me.

He really loves walking around with Daddy. ;)

I love you Truett Matthew. You make every day so very special. I am so happy to be your mommy. You have filled my heart with so much love. When I look at you and you smile back at me, I can see that you love me and that you trust me. When you give me your precious little baby hugs and lay your head on my shoulder and pat my back with your sweet baby hands, I know a love that is unique between a mother and her baby. It melts my heart and brings tears to my eyes thinking of how much you mean to me.

Dear God, thank You so much for this beautiful year of love and joy. Thank You for all that Truett has learned and for all the new things he does every day. I pray that You will always protect him in all the things he does and the places he goes. Please continue to bestow Your blessings on his life. I pray that You will show us how to raise him properly and teach him all about You and Your Son Jesus. I will never forget the journey that brought us to Truett and the grace and love that You showed on us by allowing us to be the parents of this beautiful little creation of Yours. I pray that You will lead him and guide him all throughout his life and show him Your ways and the things that You have for him to do with his life. I thank You and I praise You for working such a miracle for us. Please protect Truett every day of his life. In Jesus’ name, amen.

