My last weekly post for Truett. It’s bitter sweet. I will miss his little weekly updates but I’m happy that he is *almost* a ONE year old. Wow. One year already. That’s crazy. He’s my little baby! But no, he looks like a toddler, he acts like a toddler – he must be a toddler!

Sorry for no pictures this time. We are almost out of data so I’m limited to text only. 😦

His birthday is this Saturday but his party isn’t planned for another 2 weeks. I feel like I have time still to plan but I really better get a fire under my butt. Invites have been sent, party favor treat bags have been made, (a few have been eaten), some decorations are collecting dust already…. I’m excited. πŸ™‚

Potty training goesΒ great when mommy sticks to it, but it turns out that taking someone to the bathroom every.half.hour is quite a challenge. I think maybe once an hour would be better for both of us. I don’t want to wear him out on it since he likes using the potty. He goes basically every time we put him on. But he really does pee every half hour so if I take him once an hour, he will go in his diaper in between times. That’s ok though. At this point when he goes in his diaper he isn’t having an “accident”. We don’t say anything about him peeing in his diaper, we just praise his peeing on the toilet. I feel like if we keep it fun and familiar, we will get this thing accomplished sooner and in a less stressful way. 18 months is kind of my “goal” although I say that loosely because you really can’t predict when it will click with him that he can do ALL his pees in the toilet.

A few things worth noting this week:

  • When you hand Tru something, he says “Ca”. I don’t know if this is “thank you” or not but it is very consistent.
  • If you offer him a bottle and he wants it, he cries. I have no idea why. He doesn’t seem to think that he can respond to milk without a desperate little whimper. Kind of like when you get ready to nurse and the baby whimpers in excitement.
  • He is officially on cows milk. We ran out of formula a Β few days ago so I figured it was close enough and gave him cows milk. He LOVED it!! With formula, he was taking 4oz bottles at a time but with the cow milk he wants at least 6oz. I’m fine with that because he looks a little slimmer to me lately so I am happy for him to get the extra calories.
  • He loves hearing the baby on the doppler. No matter what he is doing, as soon as he hears the doppler come on, he crawls to me as fast as he can and laughs and smiles. I have no idea what that is about. It’s almost like he knows…
  • His favorite games are: pushing us over from a sitting position to laying on the floor, riding daddy like a horse, getting tickled, getting into things he cannot have, stealing phones and remotes, taking everything out of mommy’s purse or the diaper bag, throwing his blankets out of his playpen preferably before he goes to sleep so that I can wake him up covering him back up, anything with music.
  • He absolutely adores showers/baths.
  • He can whistle. I know, it’s crazy right? But he does!!! It’s not like he’s whistling a tune but one flat note and he does it all day now that he discovered it.
  • We still haven’t found a food that he won’t eat. He eats everything. Pickles? Yep. Tomatoes? Yep. Bugs? *sigh* Yep. I am on constant bug watch. If he finds a fly, he will catch it and he will eat it. He has caught at least one fly recently. He’s like a karate master or something.
  • He needs his first hair cut. I have been informed that the long stands growing places are NOT adorable. I strongly disagree but whatever. I guess we have to hack his precious little baby hairs. *sniff, sniff* Mommy is feeling very strong emotions about this. Once that baby fuzz is gone, he really isn’t a baby anymore.
  • He has taken his first step!!!! From Daddy to Mommy and with no coaxing either! We were both laying on the floor and Tru was using us as his human jungle gyms and he took a step from Daddy Gym to Mommy Gym. I was impressed to say the least!
  • He has also stood on his own a few times. The first time he realized he was standing all by himself, he got really excited and started waving his arms which of course made him lose his balance. It was funny. I’ve never seen a baby fall so gently before as he does. If he knows he is falling down, it’s like he goes in slow motion and falls really carefully. I guess that after bumping his head a few times he decided enough was enough. πŸ™‚
  • He talks on absolutely every phone shaped object he gets his hands on. He jabbers for a few seconds and then he laughs. I wonder if he is mimicking me? I mean, he must be because he sees me talk on the phone. He loves talking on the phone for real too to Daddy or Grandma etc. He just smiles and listens and every once in awhile he will “say” something. I love it.

I guess that’s enough for now. I feel like there is so much more and I don’t want to forget anything. I have printed some of this blog for Tru to have someday in case anything should ever happen to this blog address. I want to print him all of his updates. I would love to be able to read what I was doing at his age. πŸ™‚ I just love this little guy so much. I tell him all the time that I love him and he almost always smiles up at me. He melts my heart! Every little thing about him. His little babbling and laughing is like music to my ears. ( The crying, not so much. πŸ˜‰ )

Dear God, thank You for this beautiful year and for all the many things Tru has learned and for all the adventures we’ve had and the things we’ve done. He is such a beautiful and sweet baby and I love him so much. Thank You for blessing us with the privilege of being his parents . In Jesus’ name, amen.

