Another late post! What a surprise.

image

We "babysat" 7 chicks for my parents last week. They're awfully cute.

We had a very good Easter this year. Truett had his first egg hunt at DH’s grandma’s house. I was skeptical that he would actually be able to participate but DH was determined.
image

He took Tru out and showed him an egg on the ground. Tru then spent the next 5 minutes trying to pick up the same egg. His hands are just too small and the egg was so smooth and slippery. It was painful to watch in the sense that I just really wanted to help him. Finally, after he had suffered enough trying to pick it up, DH finally helped him. Then they moved on to the next egg.
image

It was a long process. Tru finally managed to pick one up all on his own and buddy, he was not going to let that egg go. He was clearly surprised and pleased at his accomplishment. He ended up sucking some of the yellow food coloring off of an egg… hopefully that’s ok.
image

image

Speaking of sucking, I let him suck the sugar off of a peep. Bad mommy moment. Sorry. Anyways, he loved it of course. He was sucking on it like a boobie and enjoying it very muchly. I eventually took it from him when a piece started to break off. Cue screaming fit.
image

Don’t worry, it wasn’t one of these kind of peeps.

Church had a lovely service. Tru had a lovely meltdown at the end of the service but to be fair, he was hungry. Then we went to my grandma’s house and my cousins were there with their babies and all together, there were 5 babies age 2 and under. I couldn’t help but think back to how awful I would have been feeling there without my baby to cling to. So much has changed in the last year. I’m so infinitely grateful.

But to update about Tru, since that’s why you’re reading this… His sleep has continued to suck terribly the last while. A few nights ago though, he slept on his back. He usually sleeps on his belly now because as soon as I lay him down, he rolls onto his belly. That night he slept until around 4am without getting in bed with us. It was wonderful! So I wondered if it had something to do with the position. Last night I laid him down on his back and made sure he was still on his back when I went to bed. He woke up after 6am. Could this just be a coincidence? I’m afraid to get to excited about it in case it just happened. I really hope that he will sleep better if I just make sure he’s on his back. I don’t know though. That seems too easy. Besides, he sleeps on his back in bed with us and he still wakes up all night so…we shall just have to see what happens. At any rate, last night was awesome.

image

You can't get cuter than that.

I still cannot convince Tru to get on all fours no matter how much I crawl around in front of him. He thinks it’s hilarious to watch mommy crawl but he obviously doesn’t think it’s something he can do. I’m not in a huge hurry to grow him up or anything, but he gets sooo mad when he can’t get where he wants to go, I think he would be a happier baby if he could crawl. He does get around pretty well now rolling though. He has mastered rolling through doorways now and he rolls pretty much all over the place. I’ve never seen a baby get around so well just on rolling. He is also getting more stable sitting up. We can’t sit him on the floor and walk away just yet, but sometimes he sits for a minute or two before he topples over.

I made some homemade baby food this week and Tru likes it just as well as the jars. At $.53 a jar, I rather buy them for convenience if we are going somewhere or buy the varieties I can’t/don’t want to make. I made it and froze it in ice-cube trays and then I just thaw about 3 cubes per feeding. He also started drinking out of a sippy cup occasionally. I wasn’t really ready to start that, but my sister had given us some old sippy cups that were her daughters and Tru was playing with one and he just started sucking air out of it, so DH asked me to put milk in it and see what happens and Tru just gulped it down. Sniff, sniff. He’s getting so big. He also started drinking a bottle again for the first time since around 2 months.

Ok, I have to go. Nap time is almost over. That’s another thing. I’ve started laying him down for naps when he gets tired during the day. I lay him in his bed and he usually fusses/cries for a few minutes and then falls asleep for about an hour. Our days have been so. much. better. the last week because of this. He will literally stay awake all day if I don’t make him take a nap. Even in he does have to CIO for a few minutes, it’s worth it because he’s so much happier when he wakes up.

image

Just eat your dandelions for weed control. 😉 They're so tasty. You can eat every bit of it.

image

More phlox

image

Tulips and daffodils my dad gave me last year. So glad they came up so well.

Dear God, Thank You for all of Your blessings on us. Thank You for the good week that we’ve had and the beautiful weather. Please watch over Tru and protect him and help us to train him up in the way he should go. Help us to know how to teach him the things that You would have him learn. In Jesus’ name, amen.

