I’m starting to get very annoyed at myself for posting these updates late all the time. A week goes by like a day now and I don’t realize until its too late.
We are knee deep in a 6 month sleep regression now. After barely recovering from our 4 month sleep regression wherein we woke up for hours upon hours all night to talk to our adorable toes. Now Tru has decided that he is a newborn again and needs to eat at least 3 times in the night. And wake up for hours untold just for the fun of it. Or not so fun because, unlike with the last regression, he’s not happy and he wants nothing to do with his toes. To be quite honest, I don’t really mind him waking up to eat and considering that I wake up for a drink of water a good many 5 times a night myself, I don’t have the heart to deny him a little booby snack. However, DH has started a little habit that isn’t quite so easy to deal with. Our baby who laid down every night at 9pm for bed with very little trouble appearently looked so cute that DH decided he needed to let him snuggle in bed with us several nights. I tried to warn him that this would surely lead to no good and as I feared, Tru is now wanting to sleep with us. At some point in the night, out of desperation I cave. He is adorable and secretly I like it but I also worry constantly in the night that he will fall out of bed or some such thing therefore I get crappy sleep.
I don’t sleep much anymore ….
I’m sitting on the couch at 12:30am listening to Tru fuss himself back to sleep for the 4th (???) time already tonight. I’ve nursed and nursed and cuddled. Its time to step back and take a break.
In much brighter and happier news, Truett is learning new fun things all the time. He loves blowing raspberries, sucking his bottom lip in while blowing out (its a slobbery mess everywhere), rolling all over like its his job (oddly enough though he hasn’t rolled at night lately), smiling, laughing, loving us mimicking him… the list goes on and on. He still doesn’t babble as much as he used to and I really miss it. He has been doing this adorable little thing for quite some time now where he holds us his hand (right usually) and stares at it trying to figure out which finger is his thumb, then he trys to insert his thumb into his mouth but it always takes him several trys. Its funny because he can get it easily in his sleep but its like he overthinks it when he’s awake.
We have still been taking our walks on the warmer days. I tried out the Moby wrap again and I must say that I like it MUCH better than I used to when he was smaller and just sunk down in it. Tru LOVES it and we even got daddy to try it out which wasn’t easy but once he was wearing it, he loved it too. 🙂
Tru is becoming quite interested in the dog. The dog is still very apprehensive and skittish around the baby but Tru is making progress with him I think. With very careful supervision (DH sitting with River and me holding Tru) he likes to reach out and oh so very very gently stroke the dog’s ears and neck. I think its so cute how gentle he is especially since its not as if he actually knows to be gentle. Its like he just senses that this nice squishy thing would like to be pet very softly. I need to get a picture of it soon.
Still waiting on teeth to come in. I’m in no hurry really since Tru has recently started biting down some while nursing. It feels not good. But, to get him past the teething pain he has, I suppose it really would be a good thing. Is it weird that I feel a tiny sadness that he won’t have that adorable gummy smile anymore once his teeth are in?
This last couple weeks have been a major growth spurt time. Today my mom measured Tru at 27 inches long. That’s over 6 inches growth since birth! He’s suddenly in 9-12 month clothes. His sweet 6 month clothes are wayyy to small. Its crazy how fast growth spurts go. Its like you wake up one day and your baby is an inch longer! Or actually, you don’t wake up seeing as you were already awake since forever. But you get out of bed.
I’m going to have to say goodnight now because I have a feeling I’m not making any sense now.
image

image

image

image

Dear God, please help us to get through all of these rough nights feeling rested and able to enjoy the day. I ask that You will help Tru to be healthy and happy. Thank You for all of our blessings. In Jesus’ name, amen.

