Every year I try to make homemade gifts for some of the people on my list. Obviously, its not practical to make gifts for everyone, but I try to make them for the ones I know will appreciate it. This year I had to keep it super simple because I don’t have a ton of time. I usually have to start at the end of August to get this done but this year I didn’t get started early enough. I just wasn’t motivated until recently.
image

This one is easy peasy and super fast. I crochet the top on a dish towel to make a hanging towel for the fridge or oven door. I also knit a little dish cloth. Paired with matching oven mitt, pot holder and yummy smelling candle, its a very inexpensive gift.
image

I was thrilled to have the idea to make casts of Truett’s feet out of plaster of paris. I painted them white, covered with modge podge, painted “Merry Christmas 2013” on the back and drilled a hole for ribbon and
voila – an ornament!
image

Another tree ornament I’ve made in the past are these pretty little balls. (There is no way to say that without it sounding wrong…) Its just fabric pinned onto a Styrofoam ball with ribbon (or lace) pinned around the circumference with a bow on top. No glue. No mess. And a fun little project. I love that they can be personalized with your favorite team colors or whatever.
image

I wish I had a better picture of these pillows I made one year. The snowman and gingerbread man are cut out of felt. The wreath and Christmas tree are fabric. These were really fun to make but they took forever.
image

I made this crazy quilt for the hubs one year. Its full size. And it too wayyyyyy too long!!!
image

My grandma actually knit this afghan for me but I made one just like it for my MIL last year and failed to take a picture. I started in August and finished in December. I got so used to knitting every night I was almost sad when I finished!

       Those are my favorite gifts I’ve made in the recent years. I’m always looking for new, easy ideas!! Anyone else like to craft?

